The Dr. and Mrs. Ralph Campbell Award

(for particularly meritorious service in outreach activities)


To mark the end of the term of Dr. Ralph Campbell as president of the University of Manitoba, his colleagues and friends established a trust fund to support the Dr. and Mrs. Ralph Campbell Outreach Award for meritorious service in outreach activities. The award is referred to as The Campbell Award.


The Campbell Award shall normally be presented each Fall to a staff member of the University of Manitoba.  The Value of the award will be determined from time to time by the Board of Governors.  In each of the past years, the award has been $1,000.  If, in the judgment of the committee of selection there are two candidates of equal merit, the committee may recommend that the Campbell Award be divided between the two candidates.

Nominations for the Campbell Award will be accepted from staff members of the University, alumni and members of the community.

No recipient of a Campbell Award is eligible to receive it a second time until the tenth year after the first receipt of the award.

Selection Committee

The Presidential Advisory Committee on University Outreach will continue to act as the selection committee for the Campbell Award and to advise the president of the most appropriate recipients for this year. The committee will bear in mind the diversity of faculties, schools and administrative units within the University and will attempt to give due recognition to all areas over a period of time.


Nomination forms can be found here and submitted to: Dr. Diane Hiebert-Murphy, Vice-Provost (Academic Affairs), Chair of the Selection Committee, 208 Administration Building, by Wednesday, October 18, 2017. The nomination forms must be accompanied by three letters of support, including at least one letter from outside the University.


Deadline for receipt of nomination forms is in the fall each year.

For more information, please contact Norm Delos Reyes at

Award Recipients

2016 Prof. Dietmar Straub
2015 Dr. Annemieke Farenhorst, Dr. Vanessa Warne

2014  Dr. Sharon Macdonald
2013  Dr. Witold Kinsner
2012  Dr. Dean Kriellaars
2011  Dr. Francis Amara
2010  Dr. Jennifer Mactavish
2009  Dr. Richard Holley, Dr. Patrick Choy
2008  Dr. Tom Berry
2007  Prof. Ted McLachlan
2006  Dr. Gordon Giesbrecht
2005  Prof. H. Engbrecht, Dr. D. Jenkinson
2004  Dr. Z. Lutfiyya
2003  Dr. W. Guenter
2002  Dr. S. Blake, Dr. J. Sinclair
2001  Prof. W. Neville
2000  Prof. F. Hellner
1999  Dr. S. Cheng, Dr. B. Macpherson
1998  Dr. R. Boyer, Prof. C. Thomsen
1997  Dr. T. Galloway
1996  Dr. O. Gerus, Dr. S. Hryniuk
1995  Dr. W. Dahlgren, Dr. M. Britton
1994  Dr. G. Martin, Prof. E. Thomlinson
1993  Ms. S. Boreskie, Prof. R. Penner
1992  Drs. Diane and Roy Dowling,
 Dr. C. Gilson
1991  Prof. J.R. London, Prof. P.C. Thomas
1990  Prof. L.M. Lenz, Prof. H. Engbrecht
1989  Dr. B. Tefft, Dr. N. Winther
1988  Dr. J.M. Friesen, Dr. W.O Pruitt
1987  Prof. K.W. Osborne, Dr. A. Schwartz
1986  Dr. F.S. LaBella, Dr. E.D. Murray
1985  Dr. L.M. Brockman, Dr. R.M. Mathur
1984  Dr. A.M. Schafer
1983  Dr. V.A. Corroll, Dr. J.A. Hildes
1982  Prof. H. Bessason, Dr. C.A. Ferguson



Back to Merit and Outreach Awards