CM Archive
CM Archive Book Review line

Frances Duncan.

New York, Avon Books, c1982.
Distributed by Avon Books Canada.
190pp, paper, $2.75.
ISBN 0-380-80143-4.

Grades 9 and up.
Reviewed by Ellen Robson.

Volume 11 Number 4.
1983 July.

Frances Duncan, author of such books as Kap-Sung Ferns* and Cariboo Runaway,** has written a very touching book on coping with death, based in Vancouver where she was born. This book is actually two stories, that of Rondo, the daughter of two musicians who have been killed in a car accident and that of Margery who takes in Rondo, the daughter of her best friend, Mary. The plot alternates between Rondo's sorrow and Margery's attempt to cope with herself and her changing family.

Because Margery's husband is interested in politics, the reader receives a few pointed jabs about Trudeau, Levesque, and Quebec politics as seen from British Columbia. The rest of the characters are Margery's own children who are everyday kids with everyday activities. Even Margery is faced with the common problems of a dirty kitchen and jogging to lose weight. However, the outstanding feature of the book is the credible attempt to cope with death and the stages necessary for recovery.

This book has been originally published in popular paperback size. The story will appeal to a very broad audience, but it will be easier for female readers to identify with the two women in the story. This sensitive study of coping can be related to the many areas of the school curriculum from grades 9 up and is an excellent read for adults as well as teenagers.

*Reviewed vol. VII/1 Winter 1979 p.37.
**Reviewed vol. V/l Winter 1977 p.40.

Ellen Robson, Winston Churchill C.I., Scarborough, ON.
line indexes


1971-1979 | 1980-1985 | 1986-1990 | 1991-1995


The materials in this archive are copyright © The Manitoba Library Association. Reproduction for personal use is permitted only if this copyright notice is maintained. Any other reproduction is prohibited without permission Copyright information for reviewers

Young Canada Works