Award #: 27296 FOP: 614754 330000 7000

Award Type: Bursary

Elizabeth Shaw Bursary for Early Years Education

Mr. Bruce Shaw (B.Sc.[G.E.]/73) bequeathed \$150,000 to the University of Manitoba in 2009 to establish an endowment fund in honour of his mother, Mrs. Elizabeth Shaw. The purpose of this award is to support students pursuing Early Years Education in the Faculty of Education. Each year, beginning in 2019-2020, the available annual income from the fund will be used to offer one or more bursaries to undergraduate students who:

- (1) are enrolled part-time or full-time in any year of study in the After-Degree Bachelor of Education program delivered by the Faculty of Education, with a focus on the Early Years Education;
- (2) has achieved a minimum degree grade point average of 2.5; and
- (3) have demonstrated financial need on the standard University of Manitoba bursary application form.

Preference will be given to students in the following order:

- (a) single parents who are residents of rural* Manitoba;
- (b) single parents who are not residents of rural Manitoba;
- (c) residents of rural Manitoba.

*For the purposes of this award, rural Manitoba is defined as outside of the census metropolitan areas of the province (as defined by Statistics Canada).

The selection committee will have the discretion to determine the number and value of awards offered each year based on the available funds.

The Dean of the Faculty of Education (or designate) will name the selection committee for this bursary.

This agreement may be amended by the mutual consent of the donor (or designate) and the University of Manitoba. All such amendments shall be in writing. In the absence of the donor (or designate), and providing all reasonable efforts have been made to consult, the Board of Governors of the University of Manitoba has the right to modify the terms of this award if, because of changed conditions, it becomes necessary to do so. Such modification shall conform as closely as possible to the expressed intention of the donor in establishing the award.

Established: Senate, May 15, 2019