Personnel Directory

ACADEMIC STAFF 

Currie

Rob Currie, Ph.D. (Manitoba)  - Department Head 
Management of varroa mites, honey bee viruses and pathogens, physiological., ecological, and behavioural studies of insect pollinators.

Tel: (204) 474-6020
Email: rob.currie@umanitoba.ca
Website

 

Costamagna

Alejandro C. Costamagna,, Ph.D. (Michigan State University)
Insect ecology in agricultural landscapes; ecosystem services, biodiversity, and landscape structure; insect dispersal; predator-prey interactions; trophic and guild interactions in multi-species assemblages; bottom-up and top-down regulation; trophic cascades; biological control; host plant resistance sustainable management of agricultural pests.

Tel: (204) 474-9007
Email: Ale.Costamagna@umanitoba.ca
Website

Lab Website

 

Jason Gibbs

Jason Gibbs, Ph. D. (York University)
Diversity of wild pollinators, systematics, molecular phylogenetics, integrative taxonomy, revisions of halictid bees, behaviour and social evolution of bees, pollinator ecology and diversity in natural and agricultural landscapes, native bee conservation.

Tel: (204) 474-7485
Email: Jason.gibbs@umanitoba.ca
Website

Rochon

Kateryn Rochon, Ph.D. (North Carolina State University) 
Vector ecology, arthropod-livestock interactions, arthropod-microbe interactions, geographic distribution of disease vectors, livestock pest management, emerging and re-emerging arthropod-borne diseases.

Tel: (204) 474-8640
Email: kateryn.rochon@umanitoba.ca
Website

 

INSTRUCTOR

Bannerman

Jordan Bannerman, M.P.M. (Simon Fraser University)
Insect ecology in the context of climate change, host-parasitoid dynamics, host-parasitoid trophic interactions, behavioural ecology of aphid parasitoids, biological control of agricultural pests.

Tel: (204) 480-1021
Email: jordan.bannerman@ad.umanitoba.ca

 

SUPPORT STAFF

Baker

Margaret Ann Baker
Administrative Assistant

Tel: (204) 474-9470
Email: ma.baker@umanitoba.ca

 

Erika Hart

Erika Hart
Administrative Assistant

Tel: (204) 474-9436
Email: Erika.hart@umanitoba.ca

Graham

Kathy Graham
Department Secretary & Graduate Student Coordinator

Tel: (204) 474-8077
Email: kathy_graham@umanitoba.ca

 

Babey

Lisa Babey
Technician

Tel: (204) 474-6951
Email: lisa_babey@umanitoba.ca

 

Holder

Dave Holder
Technician

Tel: (204) 474-6947
Email: dave_holder@umanitoba.ca

 

PROFESSORS EMERITUS

Galloway

 

Terry Galloway, Ph.D. (Manitoba) 
Biology and management of arthropod pests of wild and domestic animals, interactions of ectoparasites and their hosts, taxonomy of flea larvae.

Tel: (204) 474-6024
Email: terry_galloway@umanitoba.ca
Website

Holliday

Neil J. Holliday, Ph.D. (Bristol)
Ecology and management of crop pest insects, biological control, population biology and ecology of carabid beetles, feeding and evolutionary ecology of geometrid moths, biodiversity in managed forest ecosystems.

Tel: (204) 474-8365
Email: neil_holliday@umanitoba.ca
Website

Reinhart Brust, Ph.D.
Biology and Ecology of mosquitoes

Email: brustra@telus.net

 

 SENIOR SCHOLARS

MacKay

Pat MacKay, Ph.D. (British Columbia)

Ecology, physiology and geographic variability of aphid polymorphism, dispersal, overwintering and density regulation. Economic aspects of aphid biology, including  economic thresholds and sequential sampling schemes for aphid pests of field crops. 

Tel: (204) 474-9204
Email: pa_mackay@umanitoba.ca

 

SESSIONAL INSTRUCTORS

Ahmed Abdelghany
Cole Rodson-Hyska

 POST DOCTORAL FELLOWS

Tharshi Nagalingalam 

RESEARCH ASSOCIATES

Derek Micholson
Zoe Remple 
 

ADJUNCT PROFESSORS

Adjunct and Honourary Research Professors associated with the Department may supervise graduate students, but some are available only to be members of student's advisory committees. Current adjuncts, their affiliations and areas of expertise are given below. Enquiries about willingness to supervise graduate students should, in the first instance, be directed to the Department Head.

Héctor Cárcamo
James Carpenter
Paul G. Fields
Mahmood Iranpour
Robert J. Lamb
L. Robbin Lindsay
Peter G. Mason
Michael J. Paterson
Stephen F. Pernal
Cheryl Podemski
David M. Rosenberg
Barbara Sharanowski
                                                                                                                                                                             

HONOURARY PROFESSORS

S.R. Loschiavo