Carl R. Nelson Jr. Teaching Award
Professor Carl R. Nelson Jr. was a distinguished professor in the Faculty of Architecture. He was honoured as a Professor Emeritus in 2001. Professor Nelson was an outstanding teacher and practitioner. He brought a sense of rigour, fun and dedication to the craft of design in his teaching. Carl moved smoothly and effortlessly between his discipline of architecture and the disciplines of landscape architecture and urban design. Carl was the founding Head of the Department of Environmental Studies (now Environmental Design). He taught across the Faculty in both the undergraduate and graduate programs. In honour of Carl’s outstanding contribution to teaching in the Faculty of Architecture, the Faculty will award yearly the Carl R. Nelson Jr. Teaching Award.

The Carl R. Nelson Jr. Teaching Award will be awarded annually to a member of the Faculty of Architecture teaching staff (sessional or full-time) who has displayed a commitment to teaching excellence in Environmental Design, Architecture, City Planning, Interior Design or Landscape Architecture. Nominations may be made on a Carl R. Nelson Jr. Teaching Award Nomination Form and shall be submitted to the Dean of the Faculty of Architecture by the end of March of each academic year. The Carl R. Nelson Teaching Award Committee, chaired by the Dean or designate and consisting of five members appointed annually be Faculty Council, will meet by mid-April of each year to review the nominations and select a worthy recipient. All nominations will remain confidential. The award will be announced at the annual Fall Celebration. No one person is eligible to receive the award in two consecutive years.

Electronic Nomination Form

Applications should be submitted to:

Philippa Alexiuk
Room 201, John A. Russell Building


Past Recipients

2019 Liv Valmestad (ED Program)
2018 Tijen Roshko (Dept. of ID)
2017 Mohamad Araji (ED Program)
2016 Anna Thurmayr (Dept. of LA)
2015 Ted McLachlan (Dept. of LA)
2014 Phillip Ronald (ED Program)
2013 not awarded
2012 Lancelot Coar (Dept. of Arch)
2011 Jeff Garcia (ED Program)
2010 Susan Close (Dept. of ID)
2009 Marcella Eaton (Dept. of LA)
2008 Nada Subotincic (Dept. of Arch)
2007 David Lucas (Dept. of LA)