University of Manitoba - Faculty of Arts - Dean's Welcome
Dean's Welcome

Welcome to the Faculty of Arts, the largest faculty at the University of Manitoba.  At present, the Faculty houses twenty-three Departments and Programs and nine Centres and Institutes.  It offers undergraduate courses leading to the Bachelor of Arts General, Bachelor of Arts Advanced, and the Bachelor of Arts Honours degrees.   In addition, Master of Arts and doctoral programs are offered in ten of the Faculty’s departments and five other Departments offer solely Master of Arts programs.

The Faculty has approximately 3500 undergraduate and 500 graduate students and teaches nearly 30% of the total student credit hours in the University.  We have approximately 325 academic and support staff.

The Faculty of Arts has a rich and vibrant research culture. It is home to seven Canada Research Chairs.  In addition, the Faculty houses research centres in the following areas: Globalization and Cultural Studies, Creative Writing and Oral Culture, Professional and Applied Ethics, Defense and Security Studies, Humanities, and Ukrainian Canadian Studies.

Please explore our website via our home page, contact one of our student advisors, or drop by one of our departments for more information about us and the opportunities that we can offer you.

Dr. Jeffery Taylor

Dean, Faculty of Arts
310 Fletcher Argue Building
University of Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Canada R3T 5V5
Tel: (204) 474-9271
Fax: (204) 474-7590 

Janice Gripp
Confidential Assistant to the Dean
309 Fletcher Argue Building
Tel: (204) 474-8439
Fax: (204) 474-7590 

Dean's Biography