Cardiovascular Pharmacology
Current Topics:
  • What is the role of kidneys in blood pressure regulation and hypertension?
  • What is the role of brain centres in blood pressure regulation?
  • What is the role of lipids in normal heart function and atherosclerosis?
  • How do blood clotting mechanisms change in diabetes and other disorders?
  • What is the role of nitric oxide in pediatric hypertension?
  • What are the mechanisms of reperfusion injury in heart following ischemia?
  • How does conjugated linoleic acid and other functional foods affect heart function and disease?
  • What are the gene products that cause programmed cell death in heart tissue?

Faculty Involved:

 Hope Anderson, Ph.D  handerson@sbrc.ca
 Ratna Bose, Ph.D.  Ratna.Bose@umanitoba.ca
 Vernon Dolinsky, Ph.D  vdolinsky@chrim.ca
 Grant Hatch, Ph.D.  ghatch@chrim.ca
 Lorrie Kirshenbaum, Ph.D.
 lorrie@sbrc.ca
 Donald Smyth, Ph.D.  donald.smyth@umanitoba.ca