Award for Excellence

The Department of Physiology & Pathophysiology Award for Excellence Prize for the academic year 2018-2019 is now open to application from eligible students.  Please submit your completed application to the Department General Office (432BMSB) no later than 3:00 pm on October 1, 2018

The following five awards are available:

  • Larry Jordan Award for Excellence in Neurophysiology
  • Edwin Kroeger Award for Excellence in Cellular Physiology
  • Grant Pierce Award for Excellence in Cardiovascular Physiology
  • Janice Dodd Award for Excellence in Endocrine Physiology
  • Newman Stephens Award for Excellence in Respiratory or Molecular Physiology 
To be eligible for an award, the applicant must be a student who:
    1. was enrolled full-time in the Faculty of Graduate Studies (Master’s or Ph.D. program) at the University of Manitoba in a program delivered by the Max Rady College of Medicine, Department of Physiology and Pathophysiology in the year in which the award was tenable;
    2. has completed at least one year in the discipline of the award being sought;
    3. has achieved a minimum grade point average of 3.5 in the graduate program;
    4. has demonstrated excellence in research in the discipline of the award being sought;.

Applications will consist of:

    1. a two-page typed document that includes a description of the applicant’s research and career goals,
    2. a current academic transcript,
    3. two letters of reference, one from the thesis advisor and the other from a professor at any post-secondary institution,
    4. curriculum vitae of the applicant.

The prize may be held concurrently with any other award. A student may NOT hold this prize more than once.

The names of the successful candidates will be announced at the Student Awards Celebration that will coincide with the Department Holiday Pot Luck being held on Monday, December 10th, 2018.
Questions can be directed to the Department Office.