Faculty & Staff

Faculty Members

Jeffrey Pai Jeffrey S. Pai, Ph.D., ASA, P.Stat., ACIA

Professor and Director 
L.A.H. Warren Professor

Warren Centre for Actuarial Studies and Research
Phone: (204) 474-6412
Room 640, Drake Centre
Fax: (204) 474-7545
Email: Jeffrey.Pai @ad.umanitoba.ca
Website: home.cc.umanitoba.ca/~jpai/
Xuemiao Hao Xuemiao Hao, Ph.D, ASA, ACIA

Assistant Professor

Warren Centre for Actuarial Studies and Research
Phone: (204) 474-8710
Room 680, Drake Centre
Fax: (204) 474-7545
Email: Xuemiao.Hao@umanitoba.ca
Website: home.cc.umanitoba.ca/~hao/
Rui Zhou Rui Zhou

Assistant Professor

Warren Centre for Actuarial Studies and Research
Phone: (204) 474-9783
Room 672, Drake Centre
Fax: (204) 474-7544
Email: Rui.Zhou@ad.umanitoba.ca
Lysa Porth

Lysa Porth, MBA, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Guy Carpenter Professor in Agricultural Risk Management and Insurance

Warren Centre for Actuarial Studies and Research
Phone: (204) 474-8130
Room 638, Drake Centre
Fax: (204) 474-7545
Email: Lysa.Porth@ad.umanitoba.ca

 
Executive-in-Residence

Jeff Strong Jeff Strong, B.Comm., FSA, FCIA

Corporate Actuary
Manitoba Blue Cross
Phone: (204) 955-2664
Email: strong_jeff25@yahoo.ca


Staff

Brenda French

Brenda French

Department Secretary
Phone: (204) 474-7426
Room 430 Drake Centre
Fax: (204) 474-7545
Email: Brenda.French@ad.umanitoba.ca 


Adjunct Professors

Hamilton Neil Hamilton, Ph.D. 

President and CEO
Manitoba Agricultural Services Corporation
Phone: (204) 239-3277
Fax: (204) 239-3472
Email: nhamilton@masc.mb.ca

Xikui Wang Xikui Wang, Ph.D., P.Stat.

Professor & Department Head
Department of Statistics, University of Manitoba
Phone: (204) 474-6275
Room 321, Machray Hall
Fax: (204) 474-7621
Email: Xikui_Wang@UManitoba.ca

Milton Boyd Milton Boyd, Ph.D.

Professor
Department of Agribusiness & Agricultural Economics, University of Manitoba
Phone: (204) 474-6031
Room 357, Agricuture Building
Fax: (204) 261-7251
Email: Milton_Boyd@UManitoba.ca


Part-Time Sessional Instructors

Jeff Strong Jeff Strong, B.Comm., FSA, FCIA

Corporate Actuary
Manitoba Blue Cross
Phone: (204) 955-2664
Email: strong_jeff25@yahoo.ca

Justin Pursaga Justin Pursaga, B.Sc., FCAS, ACAS

Manager
Actuarial Pricing - Property
The Wawanesa Mutual Insurance Company
Phone: (204) 985-5608
Fax: (204) 942-7724
Email: jpursaga@wawanesa.com

Stephen Nighswander-Rempel, FCIA, FSA, PhD

Actuarial Associate
Group Valuation
Great-West Life Assuarance Company
Phone: (204) 926-5201
Email: Stephen.Nighswander-Rempel@gwl.ca

 

 


Distinguished Visiting Scholars

Elias S.W. Shiu Elias S.W. Shiu, Ph.D., ASA

Principal Financial Group Foundation Professor
Department of Statistics & Actuarial Science, University of Iowa
Phone: (319) 335-2580
Email: elias-shiu@uiowa.edu

Hans-Ulrich Gerber Hans-Ulrich Gerber, Ph.D., ASA

Professor Emeritus
Department of Actuarial Science, Universite de Lausanne
Phone: 021 692 33 71
Email: Hans_Ulrich.Gerber@unil.ch

Michael Sherris Michael Sherris, MBA, FIA, FIAA, FSA

Professor of Actuarial Studies
School of Actuarial Studies, University of New South Wales
Phone: +61 2 9385 2333
Email: m.sherris@unsw.edu.au

Donald F. Behan Donald F. Behan, Ph.D., FSA

Independant Actuarial Consultant
Phone: (770) 645-9336
Email: dbehan@gsu.edu

Phelim Boyle, Ph.D, FCIA
The Robert and Elizabeth Knight Distinguished Visitor

Wilfred Laurier Univeristy
School of Business and Economics
Waterloo, ON
Phone:(519)884-1970 ext. 3852
Email: pbolye@wlu.ca
Professor Mary Hardy, Ph.D, FIA, FSA, CERA
CIBC Chair in Financial Risk Management Associate Chair

Department of Statisitics and Actuarial Science
Univeristy of Waterloo
Phone: (519)885-1211 ext. 35510
Email: mrhardy@waterloo.ca
Hua Chen

Professor Hua Chen, Ph.D
Warren Centre Distinguished Visiting Scholar

Department of Risk, Insurance and Healthcare Management
The Fox School of Business
Temple University
Phone: (215)204-5905
Email: hchen@temple.edu

Qihe Tang

Professor Qihe Tang, Ph.D
Warren Centre Distinguished Visiting Scholar

Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science
University of Iowa
Phone: (319)335-0730
Email: qihe-tang@uiowa.edu