Faculty & Staff

Faculty Members

Xuemiao Hao

Xuemiao (Samuel) Hao, Ph.D, ASA, ACIA
Assistant Professor and Acting Head
Room 680 Drake Centre
Phone: (204) 474-8710
Fax: (204) 474-7545
Email: Xuemiao.Hao@umanitoba.ca
Website: home.cc.umanitoba.ca/~hao/

Jeffrey Pai

Jeffrey S. Pai, Ph.D., ASA, P.Stat., ACIA
Professor and Director 
L.A.H. Warren Professor
On sabbatical leave until July 2015
Room 640 Drake Centre
Phone: (204) 474-6412
Fax: (204) 474-7545
Email: Jeffrey.Pai@umanitoba.ca
Website: home.cc.umanitoba.ca/~jpai/

Rui Zhou

Rui Zhou
Assistant Professor
Room 672 Drake Centre
Phone: (204) 474-9783
Fax: (204) 474-7544
Email: Rui.Zhou@umanitoba.ca

Lysa Porth

Lysa Porth, MBA, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Guy Carpenter Professor in Agricultural Risk Management and Insurance
Room 638 Drake Centre
Phone: (204) 474-8130
Fax: (204) 474-7545
Email: Lysa.Porth@umanitoba.ca

Arnold Shapiro

Arnold Shapiro
L.A.H. Warren Chair in Actuarial Research
Room: 670 Drake Centre
Phone: (204) 474-9529
Fax: (204) 474-7545
Email: Arnold.Shapiro@umanitoba.ca

 

Executive in Residence

Jeff Strong

Jeff Strong, BComm(Hons), FSA, FCIA
Room 362 Drake Centre
Phone: (204) 474-8271
Corporate Actuary
Manitoba Blue Cross
Phone: (204) 955-2664
Email: strong_jeff25@yahoo.ca

 

Department Secretary

Jasmine Brar Jasmine Brar
Room: 648 Drake Centre
Phone: (204) 474-7426
Fax: (204) 474-7545
Email: Jasmine.Brar@umanitoba.ca

Adjunct Professors

Hamilton

Neil Hamilton, Ph.D. 
President and CEO
Manitoba Agricultural Services Corporation
Phone: (204) 239-3277
Fax: (204) 239-3472
Email: nhamilton@masc.mb.ca

Xikui Wang

Xikui Wang, Ph.D., P.Stat.
Professor & Department Head
Department of Statistics, University of Manitoba
Room 321 Machray Hall
Phone: (204) 474-6275
Fax: (204) 474-7621
Email: Xikui_Wang@umanitoba.ca

Milton Boyd

Milton Boyd, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Agribusiness & Agricultural Economics, University of Manitoba
Room 357 Agricuture Building
Phone: (204) 474-6031
Fax: (204) 261-7251
Email: Milton_Boyd@umanitoba.ca


Part-Time Sessional Instructors

Steve Scoles

Steve Scoles, B.Comm., FSA, FCIA
Room: TBA
Phone: (204) 452-9116
Email: steve_scoles@hotmail.com

Jeff Strong

Jeff Strong, BComm(Hons), FSA, FCIA
Room 362 Drake Centre
Phone: (204) 474-8271
Corporate Actuary
Manitoba Blue Cross
Phone: (204) 955-2664
Email: strong_jeff25@yahoo.ca

Justin Pursaga

Justin Pursaga, B.Sc., FCAS, ACAS
Manager
Actuarial Pricing - Property
The Wawanesa Mutual Insurance Company
Phone: (204) 985-5608
Fax: (204) 942-7724
Email: jpursaga@wawanesa.com

Stephen Nighswander-Rempel

Stephen Nighswander-Rempel, FCIA, FSA, PhD
Actuarial Associate
Group Valuation
Great-West Life Assuarance Company
Phone: (204) 926-5201
Email: Stephen.Nighswander-Rempel@gwl.ca

 

 


Distinguished Visiting Scholars

Elias S.W. Shiu

Elias S.W. Shiu, Ph.D., ASA
Principal Financial Group Foundation Professor
Department of Statistics & Actuarial Science, University of Iowa
Phone: (319) 335-2580
Email: elias-shiu@uiowa.edu

Hans-Ulrich Gerber

Hans-Ulrich Gerber, Ph.D., ASA
Professor Emeritus
Department of Actuarial Science, Universite de Lausanne
Phone: 021 692 33 71
Email: Hans_Ulrich.Gerber@unil.ch

Michael Sherris

Michael Sherris, MBA, FIA, FIAA, FSA
Professor of Actuarial Studies
School of Actuarial Studies, University of New South Wales
Phone: +61 2 9385 2333
Email: m.sherris@unsw.edu.au

Donald F. Behan

Donald F. Behan, Ph.D., FSA
Independant Actuarial Consultant
Phone: (770) 645-9336
Email: dbehan@gsu.edu

Phelim Boyle

Phelim Boyle, Ph.D, FCIA
The Robert and Elizabeth Knight Distinguished Visitor
Wilfred Laurier Univeristy
School of Business and Economics
Waterloo, ON
Phone:(519) 884-1970 ext. 3852
Email: pbolye@wlu.ca

Mary Hardy

Professor Mary Hardy, Ph.D, FIA, FSA, CERA
CIBC Chair in Financial Risk Management Associate Chair
Department of Statisitics and Actuarial Science
University of Waterloo
Phone: (519) 885-1211 ext. 35510
Email: mrhardy@waterloo.ca

Hua Chen

Professor Hua Chen, Ph.D
Assistant Professor
Department of Risk, Insurance and Healthcare Management
The Fox School of Business
Temple University
Phone: (215) 204-5905
Email: hchen@temple.edu

Qihe Tang

Professor Qihe Tang, Ph.D
Professor
Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science
University of Iowa
Phone: (319) 335-0730
Email: qihe-tang@uiowa.edu

X. Sheldon Lin

X. Sheldon Lin, Ph.D
Professor
Department of Statistical Sciences
University of Toronto
Phone: (416) 946-5969
Email: sheldon@utstat.utoronto.ca