Weed Management Options Which Reduce Pesticide Risk

Multi-season Weed Management Strategies

Crop Rotation for Weed Management

Crop rotation is a planned sequence of crops growing in the same field year after year. Rotating crops adds diversity to the cropping system, increasing the sustainability of the system. Although crop rotations are sometimes planned years in advance, they are also dynamic; farmers adapt their crop rotations in response to environmental, pest and market forces.

Crop rotation provides the foundation for long-term weed management. Planting a wide variety of crops with varied characteristics reduces the likelihood that specific weed species will become adapted to the system and become problematic. According to Liebman and Dyck (1993), “the success of rotation systems for weed suppression appears to be based on the use of crop sequences that employ varying patterns of resource competition, allelopathic interference, soil disturbance, and mechanical damage to provide an unstable and frequently inhospitable environment that prevents the proliferation of a particular weed species.”

Rotating crops allows farmers to rotate other aspects of the crop management system including timing and type of tillage operation, seeding date, timing and type of herbicide application, and type and amount of fertilizer application.

Some of the crop characteristics to consider when planning a diverse rotation include:

  • grassy vs. broadleaved
  • annual, biennial, or perennial
  • cool-season vs. warm-season
  • seeding date – fall, early spring, late spring
  • growth habit
  • competitive ability
  • fertility requirements

Crop rotation can be used to set the stage for eliminating herbicides from one growing season. Farmers participating in an on-farm research project on Pesticide Free Production reported crop rotation as one of the most important tools for preparing for a pesticide-free crop (Nazarko et al., 2003).

Research Results – Annual cropping systems

Many studies have shown that in monoculture systems (i.e. continuous cropping of one crop year after year), a specific weed or set of weeds becomes very problematic. For example, in continuous winter wheat production in Alberta, downy brome became a major weed problem after several years. Including spring canola in the rotation prevented downy brome populations from increasing (Blackshaw et al., 2002).

Crop rotation can also slow the development of herbicide resistant weeds. An on-farm study in Alberta found that herbicide resistant wild oats were more likely to be found in fields that did not have forages or fall-seeded crops in the rotation (Beckie et al., 2004).

See also Forages in the Crop Rotation for more on including forage crops in the cropping system.

Recommendations

Continuous cropping systems are most likely to become infested with weeds, as weeds become adapted to the system.

A diverse crop rotation puts varying selection pressure on weeds, preventing any one weed species from becoming problematic, and slowing the development of herbicide resistance in weeds.

References

Beckie, H.J., L.M. Hall, S. Meers, J.J. Laslo and F.C. Stevenson. 2004. Management practices influencing herbicide resistance in wild oat. Weed Technol. 18:853-859.

Blackshaw, R.E., J.T. O’Donovan, K.N. Harker and X. Li. 2002. Beyond herbicides: New approaches to managing weeds. ICESA.

Liebman, M. and E. Dyck. 1993. Crop rotation and intercropping strategies for weed management. Ecological Applications 3:92-122.

Nazarko, O.M., R.C. Van Acker, M.H. Entz, A. Schoofs and G. Martens. 2003. Pesticide free production of field crops: Results of an on-farm pilot project. Agron. J. 95:1262-1273.

Gestion des mauvaises herbes pour réduire les risques liés aux pesticides

Les stratégies à long terme

Rotation culturale pour la lutte contre les mauvaises herbes

La rotation culturale désigne une succession planifiée de cultures dans le même champ, une année après l’autre. Cette rotation contribue à la diversité du système agricole, en en assurant la durabilité. Même si les rotations culturales sont parfois planifiées des années à l’avance, elles sont toujours dynamiques; les agriculteurs adaptent leurs rotations en fonction des forces de l’environnement, des ravageurs et du marché.

La rotation culturale tient lieu de fondement à la lutte contre les mauvaises herbes à long terme. La plantation d’une diversité de cultures présentant des caractéristiques variables atténue les chances que des espèces particulières de mauvaises herbes ne s’adaptent au système et ne deviennent problématiques. Selon Liebman et Dyck (1993), « le succès des régimes de rotation pour l’élimination des mauvaises herbes semble reposer sur l’utilisation de successions culturales qui utilisent divers modes de concurrence des ressources, d’interférence allélopathique, de perturbation du sol et d’endommagement mécanique pour créer un milieu instable et souvent inhospitalier qui empêche la prolifération d’une espèce adventice en particulier ».

Les cultures en rotation permettent aux agriculteurs de faire alterner d’autres paramètres du système de gestion des cultures, notamment le moment et le type de travail du sol, la date de semis, le moment et le type d’application d’herbicides et le type et la quantité d’engrais épandus.

Lorsqu’on planifie une rotation diversifiée, il faut tenir compte des caractéristiques suivantes des cultures :

  • herbeuses par opposition à dicotylédones;
  • annuelles, biannuelles ou vivaces;
  • saison froide par opposition à saison chaude;
  • période de semis – automne, début du printemps, fin du printemps;
  • type de croissance;
  • compétitivité;
  • besoins de fertilisation.

La rotation culturale peut préparer le terrain en vue d’éliminer les herbicides d’une saison de croissance. Les agriculteurs qui participent à un projet de recherche à la ferme sur la culture sans pesticides affirment que la rotation culturale est l’un des outils les plus précieux pour préparer une culture sans pesticides (Nazarko et coll., 2003).

Résultats des recherches – Systèmes de culture annuelle

De nombreuses études montrent que dans les systèmes de monoculture (c.-à-d. culture ininterrompue d’une espèce végétale une année après l’autre), une mauvaise herbe ou un ensemble de mauvaises herbes en particulier deviennent très problématiques. Par exemple, dans la production continue de blé d’automne en Alberta, le brome des toits est devenu un grave problème au bout de plusieurs années. Le fait d’intercaler du canola de printemps dans la rotation a empêché la propagation des populations de brome des toits (Blackshaw et coll., 2002).

La rotation culturale peut également ralentir le développement de mauvaises herbes résistant aux herbicides. Comme l’a démontré une étude réalisée à la ferme en Alberta, la folle avoine résistant aux herbicides avait plus de chances d’envahir les champs sans fourrages ni cultures plantées à l’automne dans la rotation (Beckie et coll., 2004).

Voir également Fourrages dans la rotation culturale pour d’autres précisions sur l’intercalation de cultures fourragères dans le système cultural.

Recommandations

Les systèmes culturaux continus risquent davantage d’être infestés par les mauvaises herbes, car celles-ci finissent par s’adapter aux systèmes.

La rotation de diverses cultures exerce des pressions sélectives variables sur les mauvaises herbes, ce qui empêche une espèce donnée de devenir problématique et ralentit le développement d’une résistance aux herbicides dans les mauvaises herbes.

Bibliographie

Beckie, H.J., L.M. Hall, S. Meers, J.J. Laslo et F.C. Stevenson. 2004. Management practices influencing herbicide resistance in wild oat. Weed Technol. 18:853-859.

Blackshaw, R.E., J.T. O’Donovan, K.N. Harker et X. Li. 2002. Beyond herbicides: New approaches to managing weeds. ICESA.

Liebman, M. et E. Dyck. 1993. Crop rotation and intercropping strategies for weed management. Ecological Applications 3:92-122.

Nazarko, O.M., R.C. Van Acker, M.H. Entz, A. Schoofs et G. Martens. 2003. Pesticide free production of field crops: Results of an on-farm pilot project. Agron. J. 95:1262-1273.