

202 Administration Bldg 66 Chancellors Circle Winnipeg, MB Canada R3T 2N2 T: 204 474 6915 F: 204 261 1318

September 20, 2021

TO: Deans, Directors and Department Heads

FROM: Digvir S. Jayas, Vice-President (Research and International) and Distinguished Professor

RE: Innovation Plaza

I am writing to initiate the call for nominations for the induction in Innovation Plaza.

Innovation Plaza honors posthumously the most distinguished researchers, scholars and creators at the University of Manitoba and is located on the south lawn of the Buller Building at Auld Place on Fort Garry Campus. Innovation Plaza features at its heart a series of commemorative busts that acknowledge and celebrate individuals who have greatly enriched society and contributed significantly to the social, cultural or economic well-being of Canada and/or the world.

Nominations for this award will be reviewed by a multi-disciplinary Selection Committee made up of distinguished individuals from academia as well as community leaders from Manitoba and beyond. The Selection Committee will be appointed by the President and chaired by the Vice-President (Research and International). The chair of the Selection Committee reserves the right to rule on the eligibility of nominees.

Nomination Criteria:

- Persons to be inducted in Innovation Plaza must have demonstrated sustained excellence with global impact and influence through a body of research, scholarly works or creative activities conducted as an academic staff member at the University of Manitoba. The exceptional quality of their research, scholarly works or creative activities must have greatly enriched society and significantly contributed to social, cultural, economic and/or intellectual life in Canada and/or internationally.
- Persons nominated for recognition must have been academic staff members (including GFTs, excluding adjunct professors and nil-salaried appointees) of the University of Manitoba.
- Nominations can only be made posthumously.
- The Chair of the Selection Committee reserves the right to rule on the eligibility of nominees.

Nominations must include:

- a brief one-paragraph (less than 200 words) description of the nominator's background;
- a letter or document of up to four pages (typed single-spaced using no less than 12 points size in Times New Roman or equivalent font with no less than 1 inch margin on all sides) that clearly describes the nominee's achievements and how they demonstrate one or more of the following:
- sustained excellence;
- global impact and influence;

- enrichment of society;
- The nominee's C.V. should include detailed information about the contributions and achievements described in the above categories along with relevant information over the entire career of the nominee (in the event a C.V. is not available for the nominee, the Committee may consider equivalent documentation) and;
- The names and addresses (including e-mail addresses and phone numbers) of the five experts in the nominee's field (the majority should come from the international community) from whom the Selection Committee Chair may request objective assessments of the nominee's suitability for the recognition. A brief one-paragraph description of each expert's background and the rationale for the expert's suitability as a referee.

The evaluation of the contributions of the nominee depends heavily on the quality of the information supplied. Therefore, nominations should be accurate, detailed, and complete to reflect the nominee's accomplishments. Incomplete nominations will not be considered.

Candidates may be nominated by an individual or group by October 31st of each year with an electronic copy sent to digvir.jayas@umanitoba.ca.

I strongly encourage you to consider nominating an outstanding distinguished researcher, scholar or creator for this prestigious research award. Innovation Plaza will be an incredible testament to the men and women who have been pioneers in their respective vocation.

DJ/wc

c.c. Dr. Michael Benarroch, President and Vice-Chancellor

Dr. Diane Hiebert-Murphy, Provost & Vice-President (Academic)

Ms. Naomi Andrew, Acting Vice-President (Administration)

Mr. John Kearsey, Vice-President (External)

Dr. Catherine Cook, Vice-President (Indigenous)

Dr. Annemieke Farenhorst, Associate Vice-President (Research)

Dr. Jay Doering, Associate Vice-President (Partnerships)

Associate Deans (Research)/Research Liaison Officers