Fall 2021 Writer-in-Residence
Frances Koncan (she/they) is a writer of mixed Anishinaabe and Slovene descent from Couchiching First Nation. They got their start as a writer by blogging about the TV show “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” and has since expanded their storytelling-style repertoire to include plays, screenplays, creative non-fiction, journalism, video essays, digital content creation, and more.  When she isn’t busy avoiding writing, she enjoys feeling guilty about procrastinating while partaking in other activities. She currently lives in Treaty One territory with her dog, Tucker, and her cat, who is also named Tucker. 
Workshop Title: Decolonizing the Creative Writing Process

Workshop Description: What is “good” writing? What is the process that leads to this “good” writing? And how can we reject those colonial relics and create new processes that uplift our individual voices and honour our lived experiences? In this workshop, we’ll explore the creative processes of other writers and work towards building a sustainable, healthy writing process that can be a safe and cozy space to explore, create, and tell stories within!

Date and Time:  6 weeks starting on Wednesday, October 27th. 11:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. For info on applying for this free course contact ccwoc@umanitoba.ca  12 participants will be selected.

Writing consultations during office hours. Tues/Thurs 11:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. starting September 16th. Contact ccwocwir@umanitoba.ca to book an appointment.

 Welcome event:  Tuesday, Sept. 28, from 10 to 11:15 am via Zoom. Contact ccwoc@umanitoba.ca for the Zoom link.


Past Writers/Storytellers-in-Residence:

Katherena Vermette Winter 2021

Lindsay Wong- Fall 2020

Rob Malo- Winter 2020

Bill Richardson - Fall 2019

Duncan Mercredi - Winter 2019

Tristan Hughes - Fall 2018

David Bergen - Winter 2018

Jordan Abel - Fall 2017

Jennifer Still - Winter 2017

Steven Ross Smith- Fall 2016

Jeanne Randolph - Winter 2016

Kitty Fitzgerald - Fall 2015

Dovie Thomason - Winter 2015

Liz Duffy Adams - Fall 2014

Louise Wallwein - Winter 2014

Christine Fellows and John K. Samson - Fall 2013

Clare Murphy - Winter 2013

Sally Ito - Fall 2012

Patrick Ryan - Fall 2011

Méira Cook - Winter 2011

Ignatius Mabasa - Fall 2010

Roberta Kennedy - Winter 2010

Jan Andrews - Fall 2009

Armin Wiebe - Fall 2008

Rody Gorman - Fall 2008

Gregory Scofield - 2007