News & Events

Current News and Events

MCHP Quarterly Highlights Newsletter

MCHP Partners with-Pan-Canadian Team to Create SPOR Canadian Data Platform

Environmental Datasets now available from Manitoba Population Research Data Repository

MCHP on Social Media

We're on social media. Find us on:

Twitter Facebook Youtube Instagram
Twitter Icon - Bird MCHP on Facebook

MCHP on Youtube

Past News and Events

Evidence to Action (E2A) Annual Workshop

Founding Directors give the First and Second Farr Institute of Health Informatics Research Inaugural Lectures

Dr. Alan Katz appointed as Director of the Manitoba Centre for Health Policy

Dr. Katz is a family physician and health services researcher who is the nominated principle investigator for research funding of over $3m and a co-investigator for over $10m worth of research funded by the Canadian Institutes for Health Research (CIHR), Research Manitoba, and the Heart and Stroke Foundation. He has extensive experience in clinical practice, primary healthcare research, quality indicators of care, service delivery models, and health reform initiatives; and has led multiple successful research teams. He served as the Associate Director for Research at MCHP for over 8 years.

Dr. Patricia J. Martens presented with the Distinguished Professor Award

The University of Manitoba has elevated three faculty members to the status of “Distinguished Professor”, a prestigious title whose rules dictate that only a maximum of 20 academic staff members may hold it at any one time. It is the highest honour the University can bestow upon a professor.

The designation recognizes extraordinary, internationally-recognized, scholarly or creative achievement and an exemplary teaching record.

The newest Distinguished Professors are Dr. Charles Bernstein [MD/85] in internal medicine and Bingham Chair in Gastroenterology Research, Dr. Diana Brydon in English, film and theater and Canada Research Chair in Globalization and Cultural Studies, and Dr. Pat Martens [PhD/99] in community health sciences.

They were recognized at Spring Convocation 2014.

Dr. Marni Brownell makes the "Top Ten" list of best early childhood development research in Canada by the Centre of Excellence for Early Childhood Development, for her paper on the effectiveness of policies to reduce child abuse and neglect.

Dr. Elaine Burland published an article in Healthcare Quarterly (March 2008) titled, An Evaluation of a Fall Management Program in a Personal Care Home Population.

Dr. Patricia Martens Honoured by Health Minister

Dr. Patricia Martens Honoured with Excellence Award

 Dr. Patricia Martens has been presented with the Journal of Human Lactation, Patricia J. Martens Annual Award for Excellence in Breastfeeding Research, Inaugural award 2013 at the ILCA International Conference.

A Centre of Excellence

Dr. Patricia Martens has been named to the Order of Canada. This is the third time a Director of the MCHP has been awarded and Order of Canada; Drs. Evelyn Shapiro and Noralou Roos being the previous recipients.

Prestigious honour for three trailblazing professors

MCHP Director Dr. Patricia Martens has been elected to the Royal Society of Canada, the country's most esteemed association of scholars and scientists. Dr. Martens has been elected alongside two other University of Manitoba professors, Aftab Mufti and Grant Pierce.

Just this summer, Dr. Martens has been awarded the R.D. Defries award, the highest award of the Canadian Public Health Association for outstanding contributions in the field of public health, as well as Member of the Order of Canada in 2013.

Fellows and award winners from across the country will be officially inducted and honoured on Nov. 16 in Banff, Alberta. This will bring the total number of current Royal Society Fellows from the University of Manitoba to 45.


Dr. Norman Frohlich passed away on June 27, 2013, five days after suffering a massive stroke. Norm was an integral part of MCHP right from its inception; contributing to several MCHP research projects as well as being primarily responsible for developing the SEFI (Socio-economic Factors Index), the longest running measure used at MCHP for assessing socioeconomic status. He was also considered one of the key research scientists foundational to the inception of MCHP in the early 1990s.