Career Opportunities

PSYCHIATRISTS
WINNIPEG REGIONAL HEALTH AUTHORITY / SHARED HEALTH / UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA


To:       PGY-5 Residents in General Psychiatry, PGY-6 Sub-Specialty Residents, Psychiatrists

From:   Jitender Sareen MD, Department Head, Psychiatry

Provincial Specialty Lead, Mental Health and Addiction, Shared Health

We will be recruiting psychiatrists for vacant positions for July 2021. We are pleased to have you consider opportunities in Manitoba. Please submit a formal cover letter and complete the attached form by December 15, 2020 to jsareen@hsc.mb.ca  The Department of Psychiatry is committed to an equitable work environment and a diverse staff that represents the population we serve in Manitoba. For more information, please refer to the University of Manitoba’s Diversity and Immigration Statement.

Current employment opportunities in Manitoba

Region or Site

Contact

Employment opportunities

Northern Regional Health Authority

Tom Medd, MD tmedd@nrha.ca

 

One full time general psychiatrist in The Pas – 8 bed inpatient unit with outpatients

Selkirk Mental Health Centre

Ogo Chukwujama, MD Ogo.Chukwujama@gov.mb.ca

Two adult general psychiatrist inpatient and Rehab units

Southern Health- Sante Sud/Eden Mental Health Centre

Michael Dyck, MD midyck@edenhealth.mb.ca

One adult general psychiatrist for inpatient in Winkler

Prairie Mountain Health Region

Keith Jenkins, MD kjenkins@pmh-mb.ca

One adult general psychiatrist in Dauphin

Interlake Regional Health Authority

Bruce Naherniak, MD bnaherniak@ierha.ca

Part-time community psychiatrist

Victoria General Hospital

Sherief El-Gaaly, MD selgaaly@vgh.mb.ca

Two Adult general psychiatrists

St. Boniface General Hospital

Jane Moody, MD

jmoody@sbgh.mb.ca

One adult general psychiatrist or Neuropsychiatrist

Winnipeg Regional Health Authority Community

Randy Goossen, MD  RGoossen@wrha.mb.ca

Part-time adult general psychiatry

Crisis Response Centre & HSC ED

James Bolton, MD

Jbolton@hsc.mb.ca

0.5-1.0 General adult psychiatrist

Veterans Affairs Operational Stress Injuries Clinic

Murray Enns, MD

menns@hsc.mb.ca

One part time adult psychiatrist with experience in Traumatic stress

Manitoba Adolescent Treatment Centre

Andrew Hall, MD  ahall@matc.ca

Three Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist positions

HSC Child and Adolescent

Laurence Katz, MD lkatz@hsc.mb.ca

Two Child and Adolescent psychiatrist position

HSC/CRC Addictions

Erin Knight, MD eknight@hsc.mb.ca

1-2  Addiction trained physician (Family physician, internist) for Addictions unit, RAAM, CARMA

Health Sciences Centre- Adult

Tanya Sala, MD  tsala@hsc.mb.ca

Two adult general psychiatrist and one Forensic psychiatrist; Part-time positions in MD Care

Geriatric Psychiatry- VGH/WRHA

Barry Campbell, MD bcampbell@sbgh.mb.ca

Vishal Kaushik, MD vkaushik@sbgh.mb.ca

One geriatric psychiatrist at VGH geriatric inpatients and WRHA community

 

If you are interested in more than one opportunity, please discuss opportunities with each of the Medical Directors and include in your cover letter the order of preference for your sites. Please submit all applications to my attention – Jsareen@hsc.mb.ca.

***COVID-19 pandemic may have unpredictable changes to the staffing needs.

Qualifications for Psychiatrists:
· Must be eligible for specialty licensure with the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Manitoba.
· RCPSC certification in Psychiatry is required.
· Applicants with certification from outside of Manitoba will be required to have subspecialty training in Geriatric Psychiatry, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry or Forensic Psychiatry.

Click Here for Application Form

 


 

 The Mental Health Program of the WRHA/Shared Health and Department of Psychiatry, University of Manitoba are seeking applications for Psychiatrist Positions in the Adult Mental Health Program, at multiple sites, including Health Sciences Centre Winnipeg, St Boniface General Hospital and Victoria General Hospital – all sites are university-affiliated and involved in patient care, teaching and research.

The Mental Health Program/ Department of Psychiatry consists of several hospital and community based services with many subprograms including Adult General Psychiatry, Mood Disorders, Eating Disorders, Forensic Psychiatry, Geriatric Psychiatry, Day Hospital Programs, Schizophrenia, Consult Liaison, Addictions, Emergency Psychiatry and PACT. The Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Program of the WRHA is a Section of the University Department of Psychiatry.

More information about the Department can be obtained online at http://umanitoba.ca/healthsciences/medicine/units/psychiatry/

Winnipeg, with a population of 630,000, is a family-oriented community with an excellent education system and reasonable housing prices. The city has a thriving entertainment, arts, and sports scene, wonderful river walks and offers a host of activities including the world renowned Royal Winnipeg Ballet and Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra.

Qualifications:
· Must be eligible for specialty licensure with the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Manitoba.
· RCPSC certification in Psychiatry is required.
· Applicants with certification from outside of Manitoba will be required to have subspecialty training in Geriatric Psychiatry, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry or Forensic Psychiatry.

Remuneration:
· A competitive remuneration package is available.
· The WRHA offers an attractive recruitment incentive program.
In accordance with Canadian Immigration requirements, this advertisement is initially directed to Canadian citizens and permanent residents. Interested persons should apply in writing, including curriculum vitae and a list of three referees.

Submit applications to:


Jitender Sareen, MD FRCPC
Professor and Head,
Department of Psychiatry
University of Manitoba
Medical Director
WRHA Mental Health Program
PZ437 PsycHealth Centre
771 Bannatyne Avenue
Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3E 3N4
Email: jsareen@hsc.mb.ca
Phone: 204-787-7056
Fax: 204-787-4879