Research Institute in Oncology and Hematology

Contact Us:

Research Institute in Oncology and Hematology
675 McDermot Ave
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada R3E 0V9
Phone: 204-787-2137
Fax: 204-787-2190
Follow Us:

19th Annual Research Day for Trainees in Clinical & Basic Medical Sciences

Download Poster


May 9th from 8:30 - 4:00 Theatre B and 2nd floor mezzanine Basic Medical Sciences Building


This annual event is an opportunity for all trainees participating research projects on cancer and blood disorders in Manitoba to share their research with peers and the wider research community. Participation in Research Day is an important aspect of students' training.

Who can apply?

Any trainee at any level of education from any department may submit an abstract if it relates to research on cancer or blood disorderes.

When can I apply?

Abstracts are due by March 31, 2017.

Submit an Abstract

Who can attend:

Research Day is open to everyone. Attendance by staff and students is strongly encouraged to support our trainees.

How many presentations will there be?

We will have approximately 15 oral presentations and 40 posters. Oral presentations are held in the Theatre B, Basic Medical Sciences Building. Concurrent to the oral presentations, poster presentations on the second floor mezzanine. If your abstract is accepted, you are expected to attend. Cash prizes for the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place poster and oral presentation are awarded in the categories of Clinical and Basic Sciences.

Keynote speaker Dr Kimberly Stegmaier, MD 12:00 - 1:00pm

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute Associate Professor, Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School Attending Physician, Pediatric Oncology, Boston Children's Hospital Principal Investigator, Pediatric Oncology, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute Co-Director, Pediatric Hematologic Malignancy Program, Boston Children's Hospital and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Research Day acknowledges the generous support of CancerCare Manitoba Foundation and CancerCare Manitoba Medical Staff Association

Organizing Committee: Dr Versha Banerji, MD Dr David Dawe, MD Dr Eilean McKenzie-Matwiy, PhD Ms Ashley Sitarz