Weed Management Options Which Reduce Pesticide Risk

Weed Management Options Home Page

Optimal weed management is generally achieved when robust cropping systems are employed and herbicides are applied only as required. Knowledge of soil, crop and weed interactions can be viewed as an input which is not purchased from a supplier annually but is accumulated from personal experience, research and other producers. This document contains a summary of information on optimal weed management strategies which have been evaluated in western Canada.

The purpose of this document is to bring together information related to reducing herbicide use and make it accessible to farmers and those advising farmers on their cropping practices. It offers practical suggestions and ideas that can be used independently or in conjunction with other practices, for those who are taking first steps in herbicide reduction and for those who are ready to eliminate herbicides altogether.

The CD outlines a wide range of weed management options which reduce the risks associated with pesticides. These options have been grouped into several main sections as outlined below.

Introduction

It is important to understand the risks associated with pesticides and the rationale for using weed management options to reduce pesticide risk. more

Long-term Weed Management Strategies

Long-term weed management strategies have the most potential to reduce weed pressure and allow for reduced herbicide use. more

Single-season Weed Management Options

Although long-term weed management strategies have the most potential for impact on weed pressure in cropping systems, farmers also have many weed management options that can be implemented in a single growing season. more

Non-chemical Weed Control

When preventative measures of weed management do not adequately control weeds in the field, direct weed control may be necessary. Although the most common method of direct weed control is with herbicides, there are also non-chemical weed control options available to farmers. more

Using Herbicides for Weed Control – Making the Spray Decisions

When making chemical weed control decisions, there are many questions to consider, including whether or not spraying is needed, which product to use, and when, where and how to apply that product. more

Gestion des mauvaises herbes pour réduire les risques liés aux pesticides

Gestion des mauvaises herbes pour réduire les risques liés aux pesticides: Accueil

Le recours à des systèmes culturaux efficaces et l’utilisation d’herbicides uniquement au besoin sont la meilleure façon de lutter contre les mauvaises herbes. La connaissance des interactions entre le sol, les cultures et les mauvaises herbes constitue un atout qui ne peut être acheté d’un fournisseur annuellement, mais qui provient de l’expérience personnelle, de la recherche et d’autres producteurs. Le présent document se veut un sommaire des renseignements sur les meilleures stratégies de lutte contre les mauvaises herbes qui ont été évaluées dans l’Ouest canadien.

Le présent document vise à réunir des renseignements sur la réduction de l’utilisation d’herbicides et à en faire profiter les agriculteurs et les personnes qui les conseillent sur leurs pratiques culturales. Il comporte des suggestions et des idées pratiques qui peuvent être utilisées seules ou en concomitance avec d’autres pratiques, à l’intention des personnes qui sont disposées à réduire l’utilisation d’herbicides et à celles qui souhaitent tout simplement les éliminer.

Le CD-ROM porte sur une vaste gamme d’options pour la lutte contre les mauvaises herbes qui réduisent les risques liés aux pesticides. Ces options ont été regroupées en plusieurs sections et sont décrites brièvement ci-dessous.

Introduction

Il est important de comprendre les risques liés aux pesticides et la raison pour laquelle les options pour la lutte contre les mauvaises herbes peuvent contribuer à réduire ces risques. suite

Stratégies de lutte contre les mauvaises herbes à long terme

Les stratégies de lutte contre les mauvaises herbes à long terme sont les plus efficaces pour réduire l’action des mauvaises herbes et l’utilisation de pesticides. suite

Options pour la lutte contre les mauvaises herbes pendant une seule saison

Bien que les stratégies de lutte contre les mauvaises herbes à long terme soient les plus efficaces pour contrer l’action des mauvaises herbes sur les systèmes culturaux, les agriculteurs disposent aussi de nombreuses options pour la lutte contre les mauvaises herbes auxquelles ils peuvent avoir recours pendant une seule saison de croissance. suite

Lutte non chimique contre les mauvaises herbes

Lorsque le recours à des mesures préventives de lutte contre les mauvaises herbes n’arrive pas à contrôler adéquatement les mauvaises herbes dans les champs, il peut s’avérer nécessaire d’avoir recours au désherbage direct. Bien que la méthode la plus connue de désherbage direct soit l’utilisation d’herbicides, les agriculteurs peuvent choisir des options pour la lutte non chimique contre les mauvaises herbes. suite

Utilisation d’herbicides pour lutter contre les mauvaises herbes : décision de pulvériser

Avant d’avoir recours à la lutte chimique contre les mauvaises herbes, on doit se poser de nombreuses questions, y compris s’il est nécessaire de vaporiser, le produit que l’on doit utiliser et le moment, l’endroit et la façon d’appliquer ce produit. suite