Weed Management Options Which Reduce Pesticide Risk

Introduction

Why Reduce Pesticide Use?

Pesticides are used extensively in Canadian cropping systems. CropLife Canada reported pesticide sales of over $1.3 billion in 2005 (CropLife Canada, 2006). Of this, 78% was spent on herbicides, 10% on fungicides, 4% on insecticides and 8% on specialty product sales including seed treatments. Pesticides applied to field crops (cereals, oilseeds, pulse crops, and corn) accounted for 74% of all pesticides sold in 2005.

Agricultural pesticides have allowed farmers to increase crop productivity by reducing competition from weeds and controlling insects and diseases. However, pesticide use also has its drawbacks:

  • The "pesticide treadmill". Heavy reliance on pesticides and fertilizers has allowed farmers to adopt simple crop rotations. Use of simple cropping systems keeps farmers on the "pesticide treadmill", where increasing amounts of pesticide and fertilizer inputs are required to keep the system going.
  • Rising input costs. Input costs are continually rising, resulting in decreasing net return to farmers. In fact, the on-farm economic return for every dollar invested in synthetic inputs has declined over the past 20 years.
  • Pesticide resistance. The frequency of pesticide resistance is increasing and availability of existing and new pest control options is decreasing.
  • Environmental effects. Pesticides are designed to be toxic, and can harm non-target organisms including wildlife, pollinators (bees), native plants, soil micro-organisms and sensitive non-target crops. The potential for environmental effects is not limited to the site where pesticides are applied, as some substances are able move long distances through the environment if they become airborne or reach water sources through leaching or run-off.
  • Health concerns. Although pesticides in use in Canada are strictly regulated, there remain concerns among consumers and others that exposure to pesticides could be linked to cancer and other health issues. Farmers or others who apply pesticides have a high risk of exposure to these chemicals during their preparation and application.

References

CropLife Canada. 2006. Annual report 2005/2006.

Gestion des mauvaises herbes pour réduire les risques liés aux pesticides

Introduction

Pourquoi réduire l’utilisation des pesticides?

Les pesticides sont abondamment utilisés dans les systèmes culturaux canadiens. CropLife Canada a déclaré des ventes de pesticides de plus de 1,3 milliard de dollars en 2005 (CropLife Canada, 2006). Sur ce montant, 78 % ont été consacrés aux herbicides; 10 %, aux fongicides; 4 %, aux insecticides; et 8 %, aux ventes de produits spécialisés, y compris le traitement des semences. Les pesticides épandus sur les plantes de grande culture (céréales, oléagineux, légumineuses et maïs) ont représenté 74 % de tous les pesticides vendus en 2005.

Les pesticides à usage agricole ont permis aux agriculteurs d’accroître la productivité des récoltes en réduisant la concurrence des mauvaises herbes et en luttant contre les insectes et les maladies. Toutefois, l’emploi des pesticides ne présente pas que des avantages.

  • Le « tapis roulant à pesticides ». Une lourde dépendance à l’égard des pesticides et des engrais a permis aux agriculteurs d’adopter des rotations culturales simples. Le recours à des systèmes culturaux simples permet aux agriculteurs de rester sur le « tapis roulant à pesticides », où il faut utiliser des quantités croissantes de pesticides et d’engrais pour que le système continue de tourner.
  • Hausse des coûts des facteurs de production. Les coûts des facteurs de production ne cessent d’augmenter, ce qui entraîne une baisse du revenu net des agriculteurs. De fait, le rendement économique à la ferme de chaque dollar investi dans les facteurs de production synthétiques a reculé au cours des 20 dernières années.
  • Résistance aux pesticides. La fréquence d’une résistance aux pesticides augmente tandis que diminuent les options existantes et nouvelles de lutte dirigée.
  • Effets sur l’environnement. Les pesticides sont conçus pour être toxiques, et ils peuvent être nocifs pour les organismes non ciblés comme la faune, les agents de pollinisation (abeilles), les végétaux indigènes, les micro‑organismes du sol et les cultures délicates non ciblées. Les risques d’effets sur l’environnement ne se limitent pas à l’endroit où les pesticides sont épandus, car certaines substances peuvent parcourir de grandes distances dans l’environnement si elles deviennent aéroportées ou atteignent des sources d’eau par ruissellement ou lessivage.
  • Préoccupations pour la santé. Même si les pesticides utilisés au Canada sont rigoureusement réglementés, les consommateurs et d’autres continuent de craindre que l’exposition aux pesticides soit liée à des cancers et à d’autres problèmes de santé. Les agriculteurs ou d’autres qui épandent des pesticides courent de grands risques d’exposition à ces produits chimiques au cours de leur préparation et de leur épandage.

Bibliographie

CropLife Canada. 2006. Rapport annuel 2005-2006.