Weed Management Options Which Reduce Pesticide Risk

Single-season Weed Management Options

Competitive crops and cultivars

Field crops vary widely in their ability to compete with weeds. Even within one species, different cultivars may have very different competitive abilities. In general, the competitive ability of a crop is related to its ability to access resources including light, water and nutrients. It may be discussed as the ability of a crop to tolerate weed pressure and maintain yield, or the ability of a crop to suppress weed growth and seed production.

It is not always clear which plant traits make for a competitive crop; in most cases, it is probably a combination of traits that come into play. Generally speaking, crops with vigorous growth that reduce the quality and quantity of light beneath the crop canopy are the most competitive (Buhler, 2002). Specific characteristics that tend to influence a crop’s competitive ability include:

  • Rapid germination and emergence
  • Rapid biomass accumulation and ground cover
  • Leaf characteristics – leaf area index, flag leaf length and angle
  • Canopy structure – ability to intercept light
  • Tillering capacity
  • Height

Along with above ground competition for light, plants compete below the soil surface for water and soil nutrients. The below-ground characteristics that make for a competitive crop are not very well understood, but it appears that crops with more extensive root systems tend to be more competitive (Mason and Spaner, 2006).

Crops

Crops commonly grown in western Canada can be ranked according to their competitive ability, from most to least competitive, as follows:

Rye > oat > barley > wheat > canola > field pea > soybean > flax > lentil (Blackshaw et al., 2002).

This ranking may not be the same in all regions or growing conditions. Other sources place oat equal to or lower in competitive ability than wheat (Frick, 2000). Canola is considered to be a poor competitor early in the season and a good competitor later in the season. Pulse crops are generally poor competitors and fall seeded crops are generally better competitors than spring seeded crops.

Choosing a competitive crop is one way to potentially suppress weed growth and seed production without as great a risk of sacrificing crop yield. Researchers in Montana compared wild oat growth and seed production in wheat and barley crops and found that barley suppressed wild oat significantly more than wheat. At harvest, the barley crop had about half as many wild oat plants as the wheat crop, and wild oat biomass and seed production was also reduced by about 50% in the barley crop as compared to the wheat crop (Lanning et al., 1997). This was most likely due to greater light interception by barley than by wheat.

Competitive cultivars

Crop varieties can vary considerably in their ability to compete with weeds. Although specific varieties are not developed with competitiveness in mind, certain varieties do seem to compete better with weeds than others. Cultivars may also perform differently in different regions and growing conditions, so that the most competitive cultivar in one case may be less competitive in another case (Blackshaw et al., 2002). There is some evidence that certain varieties, often older ones, perform better under high-stress environments such as drought and low soil fertility (Mason and Spaner, 2006). It is also important to remember that the most competitive cultivars are not always the highest yielding cultivars. All of these factors may influence the choice of crop cultivar for herbicide use reduction.

While taller cereal varieties are more competitive with weeds than shorter or semi-dwarf ones, one study found that there was also significant variation within a height class in ability to compete (Watson et al., 2006). In the same study, hulled barley varieties tended to be more competitive than hull-less varieties. Hybrid canola varieties tend to have more vigorous early-season growth than open-pollinated ones, resulting in better competition with weeds. Field pea cultivars that have long vines and rapid canopy development compete better with weeds than other cultivars (Blackshaw et al., 2002; Nazarko et al., 2005; Mason and Spaner, 2006)

Crops and Cultivars for Organic Production

In organic production, the competitive ability of a crop or cultivar becomes a very important factor. Weed populations are generally higher and chemical weed control is not an option. Soil fertility levels are also generally lower, affecting crop performance as well as weed growth.

Modern grain cultivars are bred for high yield, quality, and resistance to insects and diseases. Plant breeding studies are generally conducted under conventional management and under weed-free conditions, creating a relatively low-stress environment for crop growth. This means that these cultivars may not actually be that well suited to the typical growing conditions experienced on organic farms.

There is some evidence that certain cultivars, often older ones, are better suited to low-input farming systems (Mason and Spaner, 2006). A study comparing heritage and modern wheat varieties under organic management found that Red Fife had the highest harvest index and grain yield in weedy plots, while a modern cultivar performed best in weed-free plots, suggesting that Red Fife competed better with the weeds (Evans et al., 2004).

There are also modern varieties that perform well in organic systems. University of Manitoba research found that under organic management, AC Barrie (modern) and Marquis (heritage) wheat performed poorly, while 5602HR (modern) and Red Fife (heritage) performed well, with high yield and good disease resistance (Pridham, 2006). Read more at Cultivar Mixtures, Cover Crops, and Intercropping with Organic Spring Wheat.

Recommendations

Growing a competitive crop such as fall rye, winter wheat, winter tricticale, or barley increases the likelihood that weed control with herbicides will not be necessary.

Growing a competitive crop can reduce weed populations in a field and create better conditions for a less competitive crop the following year.

Crop cultivars that have early vigourous growth and cover the ground quickly are generally most competitive with weeds.

The competitive ability of different crops and cultivars may vary with the region, growing conditions, management system, and other factors. Therefore it is important for farmers to make observations and learn from their own experience with different cultivars.

 

References

Blackshaw, R.E., J.T. O’Donovan, K.N. Harker and X. Li. 2002. Beyond herbicides: New approaches to managing weeds. ICESA.

Buhler, D.D. 2002. Challenges and opportunities for integrated weed management. Weed Sci. 50:273-280.

Evans, S., D. Patriquin and J. Scott. 2004. Small plot comparisons of phenology, yield, disease, and weed tolerance of three heritage and two newer cultivars of bread wheat under a high fertility organic regime in eastern Canada.

Frick, B. 2000. Weed management. Pages 3-30 in Back to the basics: A manual for weed management on organic farms. Organic Producers Association of Manitoba, Virden, MB.

Lanning, S.P., L.E. Talbert, J.M. Martin, T.K. Blake and P.L. Bruckner. 1997. Genotype of wheat and barley affects light penetration and wild oat growth. Agron. J. 89: 100-103.

Mason, H.E. and D. Spaner. 2006. Competitive ability of wheat in conventional and organic management systems: A review of the literature. Can J. Plant Sci. 86: 333-343.

Nazarko, O.M., R.C. Van Acker and M.H. Entz. 2005. Strategies and tactics for herbicide use reduction in field crops in Canada: A review. Can. J. Plant Sci. 85:457-479.

Pridham, J.C. 2006. The effect of intercropping systems and cultivar mixtures on weed and disease suppression in organically managed spring wheat. M.Sc. thesis. University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB.

Watson, P.R., D.A. Derksen, and R.C. Van Acker. 2006. The ability of 29 barley cultivars to compete and withstand competition. Weed Science 54:783-792.

Gestion des mauvaises herbes pour réduire les risques liés aux pesticides

Les options en une seule saison

Les cultures et cultivars concurrents

Les plantes de grande culture concurrencent les mauvaises herbes de façon variable. Même au sein d’une même espèce, différents cultivars peuvent avoir différentes capacités de concurrence. En général, la capacité de concurrence d’une culture dépend de l’accès qu’elle a à certaines ressources comme la lumière, l’eau et les éléments nutritifs. On peut l’assimiler à la capacité d’une culture à tolérer l’invasion des mauvaises herbes et à maintenir son rendement ou à éliminer la croissance des mauvaises herbes et la production de graines.

On ne connaît pas toujours clairement les caractères des végétaux qui rendent une culture concurrentielle; dans la plupart des cas, c’est probablement une association de caractères qui entre en jeu. En règle générale, les cultures affichant une croissance vigoureuse qui réduit la qualité et la quantité de lumière sous le couvert végétal sont les plus concurrentes (Buhler, 2002). Parmi les caractéristiques qui influent sur la capacité de concurrence d’une culture, mentionnons :

  • la germination et la levée rapides;
  • l’accumulation rapide de biomasse et la couverture végétale;
  • les caractéristiques des feuilles – l’indice foliaire, la longueur et l’angle de la dernière feuille;
  • la structure du couvert – aptitude à intercepter la lumière;
  • la capacité de tallage;
  • la hauteur.

En plus de se disputer la lumière au‑dessus du sol, les végétaux se disputent l’eau et les éléments nutritifs sous la surface du sol. Les caractéristiques souterraines qui font qu’une culture est concurrentielle sont mal comprises, mais il semble que les cultures dotées d’un système racinaire plus étendu soient plus concurrentielles (Mason et Spaner, 2006).

Les cultures

Les cultures courantes dans l’Ouest canadien peuvent être classées selon leur capacité de concurrence, de la plus concurrentielle à la moins concurrentielle, comme suit :

seigle > avoine > orge > blé > canola > pois > soja > lin > lentilles (Blackshaw et coll., 2002).

Ce classement n’est pas forcément le même dans toutes les régions ou sous toutes les conditions de croissance. D’autres sources mettent l’avoine à égalité ou à un niveau de concurrence inférieur à celui du blé (Frick, 2000). Le canola passe pour un piètre concurrent en début de saison et pour un excellent concurrent plus tard dans la saison. Les légumineuses sont généralement de piètres concurrentes et les cultures plantées à l’automne sont généralement plus concurrentielles que celles plantées au printemps.

Le choix d’une culture concurrentielle est une façon d’empêcher la croissance des mauvaises herbes et la production de graines sans trop risquer de sacrifier le rendement cultural. Des chercheurs du Montana ont comparé la croissance et la production de graines de folle avoine dans des cultures de blé et d’orge et ont découvert que l’orge éliminait la folle avoine beaucoup mieux que le blé. Au moment de la récolte, la culture d’orge comptait environ moitié moins de plants de folle avoine que la culture de blé, tandis que la biomasse et la production de graines de folle avoine étaient inférieures d’environ 50 % dans la culture d’orge par rapport à la culture de blé (Lanning et coll., 1997). Cela s’explique sans doute par le fait que l’orge intercepte mieux le flux lumineux que le blé.

Cultivars concurrentiels

Les variétés culturales varient considérablement dans leur capacité à concurrencer les mauvaises herbes. Même si les variétés ne sont pas mises au point en fonction de leur capacité de concurrence, certaines d’entre elles concurrencent mieux les mauvaises herbes que d’autres. Les cultivars peuvent également se comporter différemment dans différentes régions et conditions de croissance, si bien que le cultivar le plus concurrentiel dans un cas peut l’être moins dans un autre (Blackshaw et coll., 2002). Certains éléments donnent à penser que certaines variétés, souvent les plus anciennes, résistent mieux à un milieu très stressant comme une sécheresse ou un sol peu fertile (Mason et Spaner, 2006). Il importe également de rappeler que les cultivars les plus concurrentiels ne sont pas toujours ceux qui ont le meilleur rendement. Tous ces facteurs peuvent influer sur le choix des cultivars utilisés pour réduire l’utilisation d’herbicides.

Même si les variétés de céréales plus hautes concurrencent mieux les mauvaises herbes que les variétés plus courtes ou naines, une étude a démontré d’importants écarts dans une classe de hauteur au chapitre de la capacité de concurrence (Watson et coll., 2006). Dans la même étude, les variétés d’orge mondé étaient plus concurrentielles que les variétés à grain nu. Les variétés de canola hybride ont une croissance plus vigoureuse en début de saison que les variétés à pollinisation libre, ce qui les rend plus concurrentielles par rapport aux mauvaises herbes. Les cultivars de pois à longs sarments et dont le couvert se développe rapidement concurrencent mieux les mauvaises herbes que d’autres cultivars (Blackshaw et coll., 2002; Nazarko et coll., 2005; Mason et Spaner, 2006)

Cultures et cultivars destinés à la production biologique

En agriculture biologique, la capacité de concurrence d’une culture ou d’un cultivar devient un facteur éminemment important. Les populations de mauvaises herbes sont généralement plus hautes et la lutte chimique n’est pas une option. Les niveaux de fertilité du sol sont également généralement inférieurs, ce qui compromet le rendement cultural ainsi que la croissance des mauvaises herbes.

Les cultivars de grains modernes sont sélectionnés en fonction de leur rendement élevé, de leur qualité et de leur résistance aux insectes et aux maladies. Les études sur la sélection des plantes sont généralement menées dans des conditions de croissance conventionnelles et sans mauvaises herbes, ce qui crée un milieu relativement peu stressant pour la croissance des plantes cultivées. Ces cultivars ne sont donc peut-être pas aussi bien adaptés aux conditions de croissance que l’on rencontre généralement dans les exploitations biologiques.

Certains éléments donnent à penser que certains cultivars, souvent les plus anciens, sont mieux adaptés aux systèmes culturaux à faible niveau d’intrants (Mason et Spaner, 2006). Une étude comparant des variétés de blé traditionnelles et modernes soumises à une culture biologique a montré que le blé Red Fife avait le meilleur indice de moisson et le meilleur rendement dans des parcelles envahies par les mauvaises herbes, alors qu’un cultivar moderne affichait le meilleur comportement dans des parcelles sans mauvaises herbes, ce qui porte à croire que le blé Red Fife concurrence mieux les mauvaises herbes (Evans et coll., 2004).

Il existe également des variétés modernes qui se comportent bien dans les systèmes biologiques. Les recherches menées à l’Université du Manitoba ont démontré que dans un système de culture biologique, le blé AC Barrie (moderne) et le blé Marquis (traditionnel) affichaient un piètre comportement, alors que le blé 5602HR (moderne) et le blé Red Fife (traditionnel) affichaient un rendement élevé et une bonne résistance aux maladies (Pridham, 2006). (Pour en savoir davantage, consulter le site Cultivar Mixtures, Cover Crops, and Intercropping with Organic Spring Wheat)

Recommandations

La culture d’une récolte concurrentielle comme le seigle d’automne, le blé d’hiver, le triticale d’hiver et l’orge multiplie les chances de ne pas avoir à utiliser d’herbicides pour lutter contre les mauvaises herbes.

Une culture concurrentielle peut réduire les populations de mauvaises herbes dans un champ et créer de meilleures conditions pour une culture moins concurrentielle l’année suivante.

Les cultivars qui présentent une vigoureuse croissance en début de saison et qui couvrent le sol rapidement concurrencent généralement mieux les mauvaises herbes.

La capacité de concurrence de différentes cultures et de différents cultivars peut varier selon la région, les conditions de croissance, le système cultural et d’autres facteurs. C’est pourquoi il est important que les agriculteurs consignent leurs observations par écrit et tirent les enseignements de leur propre expérience de différents cultivars.

Bibliographie

Blackshaw, R.E., J.T. O’Donovan, K.N. Harker et X. Li. 2002. Beyond herbicides: New approaches to managing weeds. ICESA.

Buhler, D.D. 2002. Challenges and opportunities for integrated weed management. Weed Sci. 50:273-280.

Evans, S., D. Patriquin et J. Scott. 2004. Small plot comparisons of phenology, yield, disease, and weed tolerance of three heritage and two newer cultivars of bread wheat under a high fertility organic regime in Eastern Canada.

Frick, B. 2000. Weed management. Pages 3-30 in Back to the basics: A manual for weed management on organic farms. Organic Producers Association of Manitoba, Virden, MB.

Lanning, S.P., L.E. Talbert, J.M. Martin, T.K. Blake et P.L. Bruckner. 1997. Genotype of wheat and barley affects light penetration and wild oat growth. Agron. J. 89: 100-103.

Mason, H.E. et D. Spaner. 2006. Competitive ability of wheat in conventional and organic management systems: A review of the literature. Can J. Plant Sci. 86: 333-343.

Nazarko, O.M., R.C. Van Acker et M.H. Entz. 2005. Strategies and tactics for herbicide use reduction in field crops in Canada: A review. Can. J. Plant Sci. 85:457-479.

Pridham, J.C. 2006. The effect of intercropping systems and cultivar mixtures on weed and disease suppression in organically managed spring wheat. Mémoire de M. Sc. Université du Manitoba, Winnipeg (Manitoba).

Watson, P.R., D.A. Derksen et R.C. Van Acker. 2006. The ability of 29 barley cultivars to compete and withstand competition. Weed Science 54:783-792