Weed Management Options Which Reduce Pesticide Risk

Single-season Weed Management Options

Herbicide Tolerant Crops

Herbicide tolerant crops currently available in Canada have been designed as a way to simplify and improve the performance of herbicide-based weed control programs. There are also claims that use of herbicide tolerant crops allows farmers to reduce herbicide use.

The development of herbicide tolerant canola has certainly allowed western Canadian farmers to simplify their chemical weed control programs, and in some cases, reduce herbicide use. Whereas broadleaved weed control in canola was previously very difficult, canola is now considered to be a “clean-up crop” (O’Donovan and Maurice, 2007). The excellent weed control obtained with in-crop Roundup® on Roundup Ready® canola can allow for reduced herbicide use in the following crop (Nazarko et al., 2005).

The introduction of herbicide tolerant canola has also reduced dependence on Group 1 and Group 2 herbicides, allowing for better control of weeds that have developed resistance to these chemicals (O’Donovan and Maurice, 2007).

While the benefits of herbicide tolerant crops to the cropping system are important, consideration of long-term implications is also essential. As with any weed control practice, overuse of herbicide tolerant crops can result in heavy selection pressure that allows weeds to become adapted to the system. For example, overuse of glyphosate tolerant soybean in the United States has resulted in the selection of glyphosate-resistant weeds, and a shift in weed communities toward species that are more tolerant of glyphosate (Nazarko et al., 2005).

Control of volunteers of herbicide tolerant crops can also be problematic. There is evidence that the presence of Roundup Ready® trait in canola is causing additional herbicides to be required in zero-tillage systems in western Canada (cited in Nazarko et al., 2005). Introduction of other Roundup Ready® crops such as wheat and alfalfa would further complicate weed control options.

Herbicide tolerant crops can provide benefits to the crop production system, but should be used in conjunction with other weed and crop management practices. Integrated weed management principles should also be applied to use of herbicide tolerant crops. For example, rotating between herbicide tolerant systems (i.e. Roundup Ready® vs. Liberty Link®) is advisable (O’Donovan et al., 2007).

Recommendations

Herbicide tolerant crops can offer opportunities for simple and effective weed control in crops such as canola.

Overuse of herbicide tolerant crops can select for weeds and weed communities that are resistant to the herbicide used in-crop.

Controlling volunteers of herbicide tolerant crops can be problematic.

Use of herbicide tolerant crops should be integrated with other weed management practices.

References

Nazarko, O.M., R.C. Van Acker and M.H. Entz. 2005. Strategies and tactics for herbicide use reduction in field crops in Canada: A review. Can. J. Plant Sci. 85:457-479.

O’Donovan, J., and D. Maurice. 2007. Weed management is not what it used to be! Proceedings FarmTech 2007, Edmonton, AB.

Gestion des mauvaises herbes pour réduire les risques liés aux pesticides

Les options en une seule saison

Cultures résistant aux herbicides

Les cultures résistant aux herbicides qui existent actuellement au Canada ont été conçues pour simplifier et améliorer les résultats des programmes de lutte contre les mauvaises herbes fondés sur les herbicides. D’aucuns prétendent également que l’utilisation de cultures résistant aux herbicides permet aux agriculteurs de réduire leur utilisation d’herbicides.

La mise au point de canola résistant aux herbicides a incontestablement permis aux agriculteurs de l’Ouest canadien de simplifier leurs programmes chimiques de lutte contre les mauvaises herbes, et dans certains cas, de réduire leur utilisation d’herbicides. Alors que la lutte contre les dicotylédones dans la culture du canola était très difficile auparavant, le canola est aujourd’hui considéré comme « culture de nettoyage » (O’Donovan et Maurice, 2007). Les résultats excellents obtenus dans la lutte contre les mauvaises herbes avec du canola Roundup® ou Roundup Ready® durant la culture permet de réduire l’application d’herbicides dans la culture suivante (Nazarko et coll., 2005).

La mise au point de canola résistant aux herbicides a également réduit la dépendance à l’égard des herbicides des groupes 1 et 2, ce qui permet de mieux lutter contre les mauvaises herbes qui ont acquis une résistance à ces produits chimiques (O’Donovan et Maurice, 2007).

Bien que les avantages de cultures résistant aux herbicides dans le système cultural soient importants, il est également essentiel de tenir compte des répercussions à long terme. À l’instar de toute pratique de lutte contre les mauvaises herbes, l’abus de cultures résistant aux herbicides peut aboutir à de fortes pressions de sélection permettant aux mauvaises herbes de s’adapter au système. Par exemple, l’abus de soja résistant aux glyphosates aux États-Unis a abouti à la sélection de mauvaises herbes résistant aux glyphosates, et à un déplacement des communautés de mauvaises herbes vers les espèces qui tolèrent mieux les glyphosates (Nazarko et coll., 2005).

La lutte contre les cultures spontanées résistant aux herbicides peut également être problématique. On a des preuves que la présence du caractère Roundup Ready® dans le canola oblige à utiliser une plus grande quantité d’herbicides dans les systèmes sans travail du sol dans l’Ouest canadien (cité dans Nazarko et coll., 2005). L’introduction d’autres cultures Roundup Ready® comme le blé et la luzerne ne fera que compliquer les options de lutte contre les mauvaises herbes.

Les cultures résistant aux herbicides peuvent présenter des avantages pour le système cultural, mais doivent être utilisées parallèlement à d’autres pratiques de lutte contre les mauvaises herbes et de gestion des cultures. Il faut appliquer les principes de lutte intégrée contre les mauvaises herbes à la culture des espèces résistant aux herbicides. Par exemple, il est souhaitable d’opérer une rotation entre les systèmes résistant aux herbicides (c.-à-d. Roundup Ready® c. Liberty Link®) (O’Donovan et coll., 2007).

Recommandations

Les cultures résistant aux herbicides constituent des options simples et efficaces de lutte contre les mauvaises herbes dans des cultures comme le canola.

L’abus de cultures résistant aux herbicides peut sélectionner des mauvaises herbes et des communautés de mauvaises herbes qui résistent aux herbicides utilisés durant la culture.

La lutte contre les cultures spontanées résistant aux herbicides peut être problématique.

L’utilisation de cultures résistant aux herbicides doit être intégrée avec d’autres méthodes de lutte contre les mauvaises herbes.

Bibliographie

Nazarko, O.M., R.C. Van Acker et M.H. Entz. 2005. Strategies and tactics for herbicide use reduction in field crops in Canada: A review. Can. J. Plant Sci. 85:457-479.

O’Donovan, J. et D. Maurice. 2007. Weed management is not what it used to be! Actes de FarmTech 2007, Edmonton (Alberta).