Weed Management Options Which Reduce Pesticide Risk

Single-season Weed Management Options

Nutrient Management

While good plant nutrition is an important contributor to a vigorous, high-yielding crop, weed growth is also increased by nutrients. Some studies show that weeds can take up nutrients more quickly than crops in early growth stages and can actually accumulate higher concentrations of many nutrients than crops do, depleting soil nutrients and reducing crop yield (Blackshaw et al., 2003). Getting nutrients to the crop and not to the weeds is therefore an important tool for producing a vigorous and competitive crop.

Fertilizer placement and timing can be manipulated to increase the availability of nutrients to the crop and not the weeds.

Fertilizer placement

Fertilizer placement can enhance crop competitiveness and reduce interference from weeds. In general, banding fertilizer below the soil surface, rather than broadcasting, helps seedlings get to the nutrients more quickly, increasing crop competitiveness. In a Saskatchewan study, weed density, biomass and N uptake was 20 to 40% lower and spring wheat yield was12% higher where N fertilizer was side-banded rather than broadcast (Kirkland and Beckie, 1998). Similar results have been found in Alberta studies on N placement in both spring wheat and winter wheat (Blackshaw, 2004; Blackshaw et al., 2004).

Different nutrients and fertilizer formulations require different treatment. For example, nitrogen is highly soluble in water and is rapidly moved away from its original placement. Therefore, banding nitrogen is a short-term measure and is most effective when done as close to seeding as possible. That said, it is important to note that placing large amounts of nitrogen fertilizer close to the seed may damage seed and thus reduce competitiveness.

Adequate phosphorus levels are important to rapid early development. Unlike nitrogen, phosphate is not very water soluble, and thus not very mobile. Therefore, phosphate fertilizer should be placed close to the seed.

Timing of fertilizer application

Applying fertilizer to coincide with nutrient uptake by the crop is another way of giving the crop a competitive edge over weeds. In an Alberta study on spring wheat, applying N fertilizer in spring rather than in fall resulted in higher wheat yields and lower total weed densities and biomass in many cases (Blackshaw et al., 2004). Different weeds responded differently to the time of fertilizer application in this study; biomass of wild oat, wild mustard and common lambsquarters was reduced but biomass of green foxtail was not. In another study, application of nitrogen as a sideband at the time of planting had the fewest weeds but the impact was relatively small except for the sweep seeding which had higher weed numbers (Table 1; Derksen, unpublished). In this study, canola yield was also lowest in the sweep seeding treatment (Table 2).

Table 1. Impact of nitrogen fertilization on weed numbers over time.

  Weed density (plants/m2)
1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 mean
Fall band 14.3 14.5 54.6 36.7 87.1 41.4
Spring band 18.0 21.0 66.9 34.4 97.4 47.5
Sideband at
Seeding
13.3 14.1 65.3 35.0 67.2 39.0
Sweeps 26.4 15.5 77.3 45.1 104.2 53.7

Table 2. Impact of seeding system and nitrogen fertilization on canola yield.

  Canola yield (kg/ha)
1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 Mean
Fall band 1830 1320 911 855 1489 1281
Spring band 1893 1190 807 849 1224 1192
Side band 1875 1281 1030 936 1578 1340
Sweep 1802 375 544 823 1317 972

Recommendations

Banding nitrogen fertilizer near the seed row, rather than broadcasting, gives the crop a competitive advantage over weeds.

Applying N fertilizer in spring rather than in fall can reduce weed density and growth and increase crop yield.

References

Blackshaw, R.E. 2004. Application method of nitrogen fertilizer affects weed growth and competition with winter wheat. Weed Biol. and Management. 4:103-113.

Blackshaw, R.E., R.N. Brandt, H.H. Janzen, T. Entz, C.A. Grant and D.A. Derksen. 2003. Differential response of weed species to added nitrogen. Weed Sci. 51:532-539.

Blackshaw, R.E., L.J. Molnar and H.H. Janzen. 2004. Nitrogen fertilizer timing and application method affect weed growth and competition with spring wheat. Weed Sci. 52:614-622.

Kirkland, K.J. and H.J. Beckie. 1998. Contribution of nitrogen fertilizer placement to weed management in spring wheat (Triticum aestivum). Weed Technol. 12:507-514.

Gestion des mauvaises herbes pour réduire les risques liés aux pesticides

Les options en une seule saison

Gestion des éléments nutritifs du sol

Alors qu’une bonne nutrition des végétaux contribue pour beaucoup à une culture vigoureuse à rendement élevé, la croissance des mauvaises herbes est également stimulée par les éléments nutritifs. Certaines études démontrent que les mauvaises herbes parviennent à assimiler les éléments nutritifs plus vite que les cultures qui en sont aux premiers stades de croissance et peuvent en fait accumuler de plus fortes concentrations de nombreux éléments nutritifs que les cultures, épuisant du même coup les éléments nutritifs du sol et réduisant les rendements culturaux (Blackshaw et coll., 2003). Pour produire une culture vigoureuse et concurrentielle, il est donc important de donner des éléments nutritifs à la culture et non pas aux mauvaises herbes.

Il est possible de manipuler le dépôt et le moment d’épandage des engrais pour augmenter l’assimilabilité des éléments nutritifs par la culture et non par les mauvaises herbes.

Dépôt des engrais

Le dépôt des engrais peut renforcer le potentiel de concurrence d’une culture et réduire l’invasion par les mauvaises herbes. En général, l’épandage des engrais en bandes sous la surface du sol, plutôt que par pulvérisation, aide les semis à assimiler plus rapidement les éléments nutritifs, ce qui renforce la compétitivité de la culture. Dans une étude réalisée en Saskatchewan, la densité, la biomasse et l’assimilation d’azote par les mauvaises herbes étaient inférieures de 20 à 40 % alors que le rendement du blé de printemps était supérieur de 12 % lorsque les engrais azotés étaient épandus en bandes latérales plutôt que par pulvérisation (Kirkland et Beckie, 1998). Des résultats analogues ont été obtenus dans des études réalisées en Alberta sur le dépôt d’azote à la fois dans des cultures de blé de printemps et de blé d’automne (Blackshaw, 2004; Blackshaw et coll., 2004).

Différents éléments nutritifs et différentes formulations d’engrais réclament des traitements différents. Par exemple, l’azote est hautement soluble dans l’eau et est rapidement éliminé de l’endroit où il a été déposé à l’origine. C’est pourquoi l’épandage d’azote en bandes est une mesure à court terme qui donne les meilleurs résultats lorsqu’elle est prise le plus près possible de la date du semis. Cela étant dit, il faut signaler que le dépôt d’importantes quantités d’engrais azotés à proximité des semences peut endommager celles-ci et réduire leur compétitivité.

Des concentrations suffisantes de phosphore sont importantes pour le développement précoce rapide. Contrairement à l’azote, le phosphate n’est pas très soluble dans l’eau et n’est par conséquent pas très mobile. C’est pourquoi, les engrais phosphatés doivent être posés à proximité des semences.

Moment de l’épandage d’engrais

L’épandage des engrais de manière à ce que cela coïncide avec l’assimilation des éléments nutritifs par la culture est une autre façon de donner à la culture un avantage concurrentiel sur les mauvaises herbes. Dans une étude menée en Alberta sur du blé de printemps, l’épandage d’engrais azotés au printemps plutôt qu’à l’automne s’est soldé par des rendements plus élevés du blé et par de plus faibles densités des mauvaises herbes et de la biomasse dans bien des cas (Blackshaw et coll., 2004). Différentes mauvaises herbes ont réagi différemment au moment d’épandage des engrais dans le cadre de cette étude; la biomasse de folle avoine, de moutarde des champs et de chénopode blanc a diminué, mais pas la biomasse de sétaire verte. Dans une autre étude, l’épandage d’azote en bandes latérales au moment de la plantation a donné le moins de mauvaises herbes, mais l’incidence a été relativement minime, sauf dans le cas du semis par soc à ailes ouvertes qui a donné un plus grand nombre de mauvaises herbes (tableau 1 : Derksen, non publié). Dans cette étude, le rendement du canola a également atteint son minimum dans le semis par soc à ailes ouvertes (tableau 2).

Tableau 1. Incidence de l’épandage d’engrais azotés sur les quantités de mauvaises herbes dans le temps

  Densité des mauvaises herbes (plants/m2)
1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 Moyenne
Épandage en bandes l’automne 14,3 14,5 54,6 36,7 87,1 41,4
Épandage en bandes au printemps 18,0 21,0 66,9 34,4 97,4 47,5
Épandage en bandes
latérales au moment du semis
13,3 14,1 65,3 35,0 67,2 39,0
Soc à ailes ouvertes 26,4 15,5 77,3 45,1 104,2 53,7

Tableau 2. Incidence du système de semis et de l’épandage d’engrais azotés sur les rendements du canola

  Rendement du canola (kg/ha)
1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 Moyenne
Épandage en bandes à l’automne 1830 1320 911 855 1489 1281
Épandage en bandes au printemps 1893 1190 807 849 1224 1192
Épandage en bandes latérales 1875 1281 1030 936 1578 1340
Épandage par soc à ailes ouvertes 1802 375 544 823 1317 972

Recommandations

L’épandage d’engrais azotés en bandes près des rangs de semences, plutôt que par pulvérisation, donne à la culture un avantage concurrentiel par rapport aux mauvaises herbes.

L’épandage d’engrais azotés au printemps plutôt qu’à l’automne peut réduire la densité et la croissance des mauvaises herbes et accroître les rendements culturaux.

Bibliographie

Blackshaw, R.E. 2004. Application method of nitrogen fertilizer affects weed growth and competition with winter wheat. Weed Biol. and Management. 4:103-113.

Blackshaw, R.E., R.N. Brandt, H.H. Janzen, T. Entz, C.A. Grant et D.A. Derksen. 2003. Differential response of weed species to added nitrogen. Weed Sci. 51:532-539.

Blackshaw, R.E., L.J. Molnar et H.H. Janzen. 2004. Nitrogen fertilizer timing and application method affect weed growth and competition with spring wheat. Weed Sci. 52:614-622.

Kirkland, K.J. et H.J. Beckie. 1998. Contribution of nitrogen fertilizer placement to weed management in spring wheat (Triticum aestivum). Weed Technol. 12:507-514