Weed Management Options Which Reduce Pesticide Risk

Single-season Weed Management Options

Seeding Rate and Row Spacing

Seeding Rate

Generally speaking, a more dense plant stand allows the crop to compete better with weeds. After a certain point, however, the benefits of an increased plant population do not outweigh the cost of additional seed, especially when seed cost is high. For example, a study in Alberta found that increasing canola seeding rate beyond 150 seeds/m2 reduced profitability of the system (Upadhyay, 2006). In certain cases, however, a high seeding rate may allow farmers to eliminate in-crop herbicide or reduce herbicide rates.

Increased seeding rates can also affect other aspects of crop production. High seeding rates have been shown to reduce fleabeetle damage to canola (Dosdall and Stevenson, 2005) and lower root maggot infestations, so higher canola seeding rates can be an advantage (Dosdall et al., 2004). On the other hand, a more dense stand may increase susceptibility to sclerotinia (Dosdall et al., 2004). Thus there are tradeoffs which must be considered in deciding on a seeding rate.

Studies in Alberta looked at the relationship between crop seeding rate and the effects of reducing herbicide rates for weed control. Increasing barley and canola seeding rates allowed for good control of wild oat, wild mustard, and wild buckwheat with one-half to three-quarters the registered herbicide doses, without sacrificing crop yield and without allowing weeds to produce large numbers of seeds. Using reduced herbicide rates resulted in higher net returns for barley, but not for canola (O’Donovan et al., 2001, 2004).

Other research on barley has also shown that a higher seeding rate increases the crop’s ability to compete with weeds. In one study, a higher barley seeding rate (280 plants/m2 vs. 160) reduced wild oat seedling survival, biomass production and seed production (Scursoni et al., 1999). In another study, researchers in Saskatchewan found that a high barley seeding rate (150 kg/ha) reduced wild oat biomass production, and tended to suppress wild mustard as well ( Kirkland, 1993). An Alberta study found that wild oat caused less yield loss in barley when higher seeding rates were used, and suggested that seeding barley at relatively high rates could reduce the need for wild oat control with herbicides (O’Donovan et al., 1999).

The same trend has also been observed in wheat, even though wheat is not as competitive with weeds as barley. Research in Montana showed that increasing spring wheat seeding rate from 175 plants/m2 to 280 plants/m2 increased wheat yield by 12% (Stougaard and Xue, 2004), reduced wild oat biomass and seed production by 20% (Xue and Stougaard, 2002) and increased economic returns (Stougaard and Xue, 2005).

Research also shows that increasing seeding rate may help oats compete with weeds, especially wild oat. In a study involving eighteen field experiments at six locations in western Manitoba and eastern Saskatchewan, oats were seeded at various rates, with target plant densities ranging from 14 to 42 plants/ft2. In experiments where there was no pressure from wild oats, tame oats were able to compensate for low seeding rates, and oat yield was not affected. As shown in the following graph, all five seeding rates resulted in virtually the same oat yield, just over 120 bu/ac.

The picture was very different when wild oats were present. The lowest seeding rate (14 plants/ft2) resulted in a yield of 84 bu/ac. Increasing the target plant density to 21 plants/ft2 increased oat yield to 97 bu/ac. However, increasing seeding rate even further (28, 35 and 42 plants/ft2) did not result in corresponding yield increases (see graph at left). Yield peaked at around 100 bu/ac, well below the yield obtained where there was no wild oat pressure (Bill May, personal communication).

Row Spacing

There is considerable evidence that narrower row spacing combined with a higher seeding rate can work together to reduce overall weed competition. Some studies have shown that very narrow row spacings (4 inches) or planting in a uniform grid can maximize yield of cereal crops at higher seeding rates (Kirkland, 1993; Weiner et al., 2001). That said, seeding rate appears to be a more important factor than row spacing. Thus, it should be possible to continue to use low disturbance direct seeding without adding more openers. Since disturbance may increase the numbers of weeds and increase the persistence of weed seeds in the seedbank, some openers may be counterproductive (see also Tillage System). Seeding in paired rows may be a way of increasing the seedbed utilization without requiring more openers on seeding equipment; however, the impact of paired rows has not yet been determined.

Manipulating row spacing in crops that are generally planted as row crops (corn, soybeans, dry beans) also has potential to affect weed control. Research on dry bean in Alberta has shown that reducing row spacing to 8 inches and increasing plant density to 50 pl/m2 (from 20) increased bean yield and resulted in better weed control, allowing for the use of reduced herbicide rates (Blackshaw et al., 2000). However, these narrow rows have been shown to more susceptible to white mould.

Recommendations

High seeding rates generally increase the crops’ ability to compete with weeds up to a certain point. However, the high seeding rate may not always result in a higher economic return, especially when seed costs are high.

With competitive crops such as barley, high seeding rates may eliminate the need for in-crop herbicides.

With other crops, high seeding rates may allow farmers to adopt practices such as reduced herbicide rates (see Reduced Herbicide Rates).

References

Blackshaw, R.E., L.J. Molnar, H.-H. Muendel, G. Saindon and X. Li. 2000. Intergration of cropping practices and herbicides improves weed management in dry bean (Phaseolus vulgaris). Weed Technol. 14: 327-336.

Dosdall,L.M. and F.C. Stevenson. 2005. Managing flea beetles (Phyllotreta spp.) (Coleoptera: Chrysomelidae) in canola with seeding date, plant density, and seed treatment. Agron. J. 97:1570-1578.

Dosdall,L.M., G.W. Clayton, K.N. Harker, J.T. O’Donvovan and F.C. Stevenson. 2004. The effects of soil fertility and other agronomic factors on infestations of root maggots in canola. Agron J. 96:1306-1313.

Kirkland, K.J. 1993. Weed management in spring barley (Hordeum vulgare) in the absence of herbicides. J. Sustainable Agriculture 3:95-104.

O’Donovan, J.T., K.N. Harker, G.W. Clayton, J.C. Newman, D. Robinson and L.M. Hall. 2001. Barley seeding rate influences the effects of variable herbicides rates on wild oat. Weed Sci. 49:746-754.

O’Donovan, J.T. J.C. Newman, K.N. Harker, R.E. Blackshaw and D.W. McAndrew. 1999. Effect of barley plant density on wild oat interference, shoot biomass and seed yield under zero tillage. Can. J. Plant Sci. 79:655-662.

O’Donovan, J.T. J.C. Newman, K.N. Harker and G.W. Clayton. 2004. Crop seeding rate influences the performance of variable herbicide rates in a canola-barley-canola rotation. Weed Technol. 18:733-741.

Scursoni, J., R. Benech-Arnold and H. Hirchoren. 1999. Demography of wild oat in barley crops: Effect of crop, sowing rate, and herbicide treatment. Agron. J. 91:478-485.

Stougaard, R.N. and Q. Xue. 2004. Spring wheat seed size and seeding rate effects on yield loss due to wild oat (Avena fatua) interference. Weed Sci. 52:133-141.

Stougaard, R.N. and Q. Xue. 2005. Quality versus quantity: spring wheat seed size and seeding rate effects on Avena fatua interference, economic returns and economic thresholds. Weed Research 45:351-360.

Upadhyay, B.M., E.G. Smith, G.W. Clayton, K.N. Harker and R.E. Blackshaw. 2006. Economics of integrated weed management in herbicide-resistant canola. Weed Sci. 54:138-147.

Weiner, J., H.-W. Griepentrog and L. Kristensen. 2001. Suppression of weeds by spring wheat Triticum aestivum increases with crop density and spatial uniformity. J. Applied Ecol. 38:784-790.

Xue, Q. and R.N. Stougaard. 2002. Spring wheat seed size and seeding rate affect wild oat demographics. Weed Sci. 50:312-320.

Gestion des mauvaises herbes pour réduire les risques liés aux pesticides

Les options en une seule saison

Densité de semis et écartement des rangs

Densité de semis

D’ordre général, plus une communauté végétale est dense, mieux la culture arrive à concurrencer les mauvaises herbes. Passé un certain stade, cependant, les avantages d’une communauté végétale plus dense ne justifient pas les coûts de semences supplémentaires, surtout lorsque ce coût est élevé. Par exemple, une étude menée en Alberta a révélé que le fait d’augmenter la densité de semis du canola au-delà de 150 graines/m2 réduisait la rentabilité du système (Upadhyay, 2006). Dans certains cas, toutefois, une densité de semis élevée permet aux agriculteurs d’éliminer l’application d’herbicides durant la culture ou de réduire les doses.

L’augmentation de la densité de semis peut également toucher d’autres éléments de la production agricole. On a la preuve qu’une densité élevée réduit les dégâts causés par l’altise aux plants de canola (Dosdall et Stevenson, 2005) et abaisse les infestations de mouche des racines, si bien qu’une densité de semis plus élevée peut présenter un avantage (Dosdall et coll., 2004). En revanche, une plus forte densité peut accroître la vulnérabilité au sclérotinia (Dosdall et coll., 2004). C’est pourquoi, avant de décider d’une densité de semis, il faut tenir compte des avantages réciproques.

Des études réalisées en Alberta ont porté sur le rapport entre la densité de semis d’une culture et les effets d’une diminution des doses d’herbicides pour lutter contre les mauvaises herbes. Le fait d’accroître la densité de semis de l’orge et du canola permet de bien lutter contre la folle avoine, la moutarde des champs et la renouée liseron avec entre la moitié et les trois quarts des doses homologuées, sans sacrifier le rendement cultural ni permettre aux mauvaises herbes de produire de grands nombres de graines. La réduction des doses d’herbicides a permis d’accroître les rendements nets de l’orge, mais pas du canola (O’Donovan et coll., 2001, 2004).

D’autres recherches sur l’orge ont également démontré qu’une densité de semis plus élevée augmente la capacité d’une culture à concurrencer les mauvaises herbes. Dans une étude, une densité de semis plus élevée de l’orge (280 pl/m2 contre 160) a réduit la survie des semis d’avoine, la production de biomasse et la production de graines (Scursoni et coll., 1999). Dans une autre étude, des chercheurs de la Saskatchewan ont constaté qu’une forte densité de semis de l’orge (150 kg/ha) réduisait la production de biomasse de folle avoine et avait tendance à éliminer également la moutarde des champs (Kirkland, 1993). Une étude réalisée en Alberta a montré que la folle avoine provoquait moins de pertes dans la culture de l’orge avec une densité de semis plus élevée, ce qui donne à penser que le semis de l’orge à une densité relativement élevée peut atténuer le besoin de lutter contre la folle avoine avec des herbicides (O’Donovan et coll., 1999).

La même tendance a également été observée dans le blé, même si celui-ci ne concurrence pas aussi bien les mauvaises herbes que l’orge. Des recherches menées au Montana ont montré que le fait d’augmenter la densité de semis du blé de printemps de 175 pl/m2 à 280 pl/m2 avait pour effet d’accroître de 12 % le rendement du blé (Stougaard et Xue, 2004), de réduire de 20 % la production de biomasse et de graines de folle avoine (Xue et Stougaard, 2002) et d’accroître les rendements économiques (Stougaard et Xue, 2005).

Certaines recherches ont également montré que l’augmentation de la densité de semis peut aider l’avoine à concurrencer les mauvaises herbes, en particulier la folle avoine. Dans une étude portant sur 18 expériences au champ dans six endroits de l’Ouest du Manitoba et de l’Est de la Saskatchewan, on a semé des graines d’avoine selon diverses densités, en visant des densités variant de 14 à 42 plants/pi2. Dans les expériences sans invasion de folle avoine, l’avoine cultivée parvenait à compenser la faible densité de semis et son rendement n’était nullement compromis. Comme l’illustre le graphique qui suit, les cinq densités de semis ont donné pratiquement le même rendement d’avoine, soit juste un peu plus de 120 bois/acre.

Le tableau est radicalement différent en présence de folle avoine. La plus faible densité de semis (14 plants/pi2) a donné un rendement de 84 bois/acre. En augmentant la densité à 21 plants/pi2, on a fait passer le rendement de l’avoine à 97 bois/acre. Toutefois, une hausse de la densité de semis (28, 35 et 42 plants/pi2) n’a pas donné des hausses de rendement correspondantes (voir graphique à gauche). Le rendement a atteint son apogée aux environs de 100 bois/acre, soit nettement moins que le rendement obtenu quand la folle avoine n’exerçait aucune pression (Bill May, communication personnelle).

Écartement des rangs

De nombreuses preuves donnent à penser qu’un moindre écartement des rangs conjugué à une densité de semis plus élevée peut contribuer à réduire la concurrence globale des mauvaises herbes. Certaines études montrent que des écartements très faibles (4 pouces) ou une densité de plantation uniforme peuvent maximiser le rendement des cultures céréalières à des densités de semis plus élevées (Kirkland, 1993; Weiner et coll., 2001). Cela étant dit, la densité de semis semble être un facteur plus important que l’écartement des rangs. Il devrait donc être possible de continuer d’utiliser le semis direct qui perturbe peu le sol sans ajouter un plus grand nombre de rayonneurs. Étant donné que la perturbation du sol peut faire grimper le nombre de mauvaises herbes et rallonger la persistance des graines de mauvaises herbes dans la banque, il se peut que certains rayonneurs soient contre-productifs (voir également Système de travail du sol). Le semis en lignes jumelées est sans doute un moyen d’accroître l’utilisation du lit de semences sans qu’il soit nécessaire d’ajouter un plus grand nombre de rayonneurs au matériel de semis; toutefois, l’impact du semis en lignes jumelées n’a pas encore été établi.

La manipulation de l’écartement des rangs dans les cultures généralement semées comme cultures en rangs (maïs, soja, haricot sec) peut également affecter la lutte contre les mauvaises herbes. Des recherches menées sur les haricots secs en Alberta ont révélé que le fait de réduire l’écartement des rangs à 8 pouces et d’accroître la densité de semis à 50 plants/m2 (contre 20) a pour effet d’augmenter les rendements et de mieux lutter contre les mauvaises herbes, ce qui permet de réduire les doses d’herbicides (Blackshaw et coll., 2000). Toutefois, ces rangs étroits sont plus vulnérables à la moisissure blanche.

Recommandations

Des densités de semis élevées renforcent généralement la capacité des cultures à concurrencer les mauvaises herbes jusqu’à un certain stade. Toutefois, une telle densité n’entraîne pas toujours des rendements économiques plus élevés, surtout lorsque les semences coûtent cher.

Avec des cultures concurrentielles comme l’orge, des densités de semis élevées peuvent supprimer le besoin d’appliquer des herbicides durant la culture.

Avec d’autres cultures, des densités de semis élevées peuvent permettre aux agriculteurs d’adopter des pratiques comme la diminution des doses d’herbicides (voir Doses réduites).

 

Bibliographie

Blackshaw, R.E., L.J. Molnar, H.-H. Muendel, G. Saindon et X. Li. 2000. Intergration of cropping practices and herbicides improves weed management in dry bean (Phaseolus vulgaris). Weed Technol. 14: 327-336.

Dosdall, L.M. et F.C. Stevenson. 2005. Managing flea beetles (Phyllotreta spp.) (Coleoptera: Chrysomelidae) in canola with seeding date, plant density, and seed treatment. Agron. J. 97:1570-1578.

Dosdall, L.M., G.W. Clayton, K.N. Harker, J.T. O’Donvovan et F.C. Stevenson. 2004. The effects of soil fertility and other agronomic factors on infestations of root maggots in canola. Agron J. 96:1306-1313.

Kirkland, K.J. 1993. Weed management in spring barley (Hordeum vulgare) in the absence of herbicides. J. Sustainable Agriculture 3:95-104.

O’Donovan, J.T., K.N. Harker, G.W. Clayton, J.C. Newman, D. Robinson et L.M. Hall. 2001. Barley seeding rate influences the effects of variable herbicides rates on wild oat. Weed Sci. 49:746-754.

O’Donovan, J.T. J.C. Newman, K.N. Harker, R.E. Blackshaw et D.W. McAndrew. 1999. Effect of barley plant density on wild oat interference, shoot biomass and seed yield under zero tillage. Can. J. Plant Sci. 79:655-662.

O’Donovan, J.T. J.C. Newman, K.N. Harker et G.W. Clayton. 2004. Crop seeding rate influences the performance of variable herbicide rates in a canola-barley-canola rotation. Weed Technol. 18:733-741.

Scursoni, J., R. Benech-Arnold et H. Hirchoren. 1999. Demography of wild oat in barley crops: Effect of crop, sowing rate, and herbicide treatment. Agron. J. 91:478-485.

Stougaard, R.N. et Q. Xue. 2004. Spring wheat seed size and seeding rate effects on yield loss due to wild oat (Avena fatua) interference. Weed Sci. 52:133-141.

Stougaard, R.N. et Q. Xue. 2005. Quality versus quantity: spring wheat seed size and seeding rate effects on Avena fatua interference, economic returns and economic thresholds. Weed Research 45:351-360.

Upadhyay, B.M., E.G. Smith, G.W. Clayton, K.N. Harker et R.E. Blackshaw. 2006. Economics of integrated weed management in herbicide-resistant canola. Weed Sci. 54:138-147.

Weiner, J., H.-W. Griepentrog et L. Kristensen. 2001. Suppression of weeds by spring wheat Tritucum aestivum increases with crop density and spatial uniformity. J. Applied Ecol. 38:784-790.

Xue, Q. et R.N. Stougaard. 2002. Spring wheat seed size and seeding rate affect wild oat demographics. Weed Sci. 50:312-320.