On Principle:
100 Years of Creative Direction of the School of Art

Part of the School of Art's 100th Anniversary Celebrations

On Principle Installation


September 1913 to June 1914 marked the School of Art's first academic year. Established through the efforts of the Winnipeg Industrial Bureau, a group of prominent business men, the formation of the art school was the second major endeavor to fulfill the priority of nurturing and cultivating the importance of visual arts in Winnipeg.  Preceded by the creation of the Winnipeg Art Gallery (then called the Winnipeg Museum of Fine Arts), in 1912, over the course of the next 37 years the School of Art and the art gallery would be closely entwined, at different times sharing personnel, space, financial resources and governance. Particularly early on, Principals of the School of Art would do double-duty as Director and/or Curator of the art gallery. Soon after the retirement of long-serving Principal Lionel LeMoine FitzGerald, the art gallery and school would officially split with the School of Art joining the University of Manitoba in 1950. As expected, this move had a profound impact on the school╒s operations and in turn equally enriched the environment of the university as a whole.

The School of Art has been the training ground for some of the most accomplished and recognized artists in Canada.  Its significance is due not only to its long history but also to the talented faculty, and in particular, its Principals and Directors. In honour of the 100th anniversary of the School of Art, this exhibition traces its history and evolution through threads of commonalities as well as diverging perspectives evident in the work created by those artists whose vision and leadership have shaped this remarkable institution.

The School of Art Gallery wishes to thank the following lenders to this exhibition: the Art Gallery of Southwestern Manitoba, the Mendel Art Gallery, the Winnipeg Art Gallery, Sharon Alward, John Crabb, Paul Hess, Bob and Margaret Hucal, Celia Rabinovitch, Mary and Don Reichert, Bob Sakowski, and Diane Whitehouse.

Artists: Dale Amundson, Lionel LeMoine FitzGerald, C. Keith Gebhardt, Alfred Hammer, Steve Higgins, Frank H. Johnston, William McCloy, Alexander Musgrove, Joseph Plaskett, Bartley Pragnell, Celia Rabinovitch, Donald Reichert, Robert Sakowski, Charles Scott, Mary Ann Steggles, Diane Whitehouse, Richard Williams

Co-Curators: Mary Reid, Director/Curator, Eric Napier Strong, Gallery Assistant


Exhibition run: Monday April 17 to Friday May 23

Celebratory Reception: Saturday April 26 from 11 AM to 1 PM

> 100th Anniversary Symposium: Indigenizing the Campus Through Art