Sigma Theta Tau - Xi Lambda Chapter

The University of Manitoba, College of Nursing Xi Lambda Chapter invites you to submit applications for membership.

Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) is an organization of nursing leaders, scholars, and researchers committed to improving health by advancing nursing science. Founded at Indiana University in 1922, there are now 424 chapters in colleges and universities in Canada, the United States, Taiwan, South Korea and Australia.

The focus of Xi Lambda is to:

  • recognize superior achievement in nursing
  • facilitate the development of leadership qualities
  • foster high professional standards
  • encourage creative work
  • strengthen commitment to the ideas and purposes of the nursing profession.

There are multiple benefits to members including regular educational sessions held locally, journal subscriptions, mentorship programs, newsletters and funding for research. Student membership rates are reduced by 50%.

Applying for Membership

Nursing students in an undergraduate, post-RN, master’s or doctoral program, and nursing community leaders are invited to submit applications for membership.

For more information about eligibility criteria and an application form, please contact Shelley Marchinko, Eligibility Chair (

Xi Lambda Research Award

Xi Lambda chapter awards one research award in November each year, in the amount of $2,000. For more information on this award please contact Lisa Albensi, Research Chair (  

Upcoming Events

Xi Lambda chapter holds several events yearly, including an AGM in the spring, a fundraising event, and several educational events.  For more information on upcoming events, please contact Tara Horrill (

Sigma Theta Tau: Xi Lambda Chapter

  Xi Lambda members at AGM 2013


    Tara Horrill

Vice President

    Tracy Thiele

    Sarah-Jane Beaudry

    Deborah Chan

Governance Chair
   Shelley Marchinko

Leadership Succession Chair
   Asha Pereira

Publicity Chair
Nataliya Basova

Research Chair
    Lisa Albensi

Fundraising/Philanthropy Co-Chairs
Liliane Allegro and Emily Hyde

    Shelley Marchinko
    Rishma Chooniedass