Statistics Seminars in 2012

« Back to Statistics Seminars

Thursday, November 29
Alexandre Leblanc, Department of Statistics, University of Manitoba: “The Projection Median and its Connection to Multivariate Ranks, Medians and Depth-Weighted Averages”
Thursday, November 15
Priscilla E. Greenwood , Department of Mathematics, Department of Statistics, University of British Columbia *** CANCELLED *** : “Genesis of Gamma Bursts in Neural Local Field Potentials”
Thursday, November 8
Umut Oguzoglu, Department of Economics, University of Manitoba: “Disability and Multi-State Labour Force Choices with State Dependence”
Thursday, November 1
Vahid Partovi Nia, Department of Mathematics and Industrial Engineering, École Polytechnique de Montréal: “Statistical Inference in Stochastic Data Envelopment Analysis”
Thursday, October 25
Taoufik Bouezmarni, Département de Mathématiques, Université de Sherbrooke: “Copula-Based Regression Estimation and Inference”
Thursday, October 11
Liqun Wang, Department of Statistics, University of Manitoba: “Boundary Crossing Probabilities for Diffusion Processes with Jumps”
Thursday, September 27
Simon Guillotte, Département de Mathématiques, Université du Québec à Montréal: “A Sieves Model for Copulas”
Thursday, September 20
Xuemiao Hao, Warren Centre for Actuarial Studies, Asper School of Business, University of Manitoba: “Finite-Time Survival Probability and Credit Default Swaps Pricing Under Geometric Lévy Markets”
Thursday, September 13
Yuliya Martsynyuk, Department of Statistics, University of Manitoba: “Invariance Principles for a Multivariate Student Process in the Generalized Domain of Attraction of the Multivariate Normal Law”
Wednesday, July 11
Professor Yanyuan Ma, Department of Statistics, Texas A&M University: “A Semiparametric Approach to Dimension Reduction”
Thursday, April 5
James C. Fu, Department of Statistics, Univeristy of Manitoba: “Continuous, Discrete and Conditional Scan Statistics”
Friday, March 30
Geoffrey Vining, Department of Statistics, Virginia Tech: “An Approach to Planning Experiments for Reliability Data”
Thursday, March 29
Monica Sirski, Department of Statistics, University of Manitoba: “On the Statistical Analysis of Functional Data Arising from Designed Experiments”
Thursday, March 22
Lawrence McCandless, Faculty of Health Sciences, Simon Fraser University: “Counting the Unsheltered Homeless in Edmonton Using Plant-Capture Studies from Toronto”
Friday, March 16
Mary Thompson, Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science, University of Waterloo : “The Artificial Population Bootstrap in Survey Sampling”
Thursday, March 8
Aurélie Labbe, Department of Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Occupational Health, McGill University: “An Integrated Hierarchical Bayesian Model for Multivariate eQTL Mapping”
Friday, March 2
Christian Genest, Department of Mathematics and Statistics, McGill University: “Abraham De Moivre: Genius in Exile”
Thursday, March 1
Johanna Nešlehová, Department of Mathematics and Statistics, McGill University: “Inference in Multivariate Archimedean Copula Models”
Wednesday, February 29
Christian Genest, Department of Mathematics and Statistics, McGill University: “Recounting Statistical Tales”
Thursday, February 16
Chris Bowman, Mitacs: “Introduction to Mitacs Programmes”