Thesis Listings


Completed Master's Theses, 1899-1975

Completed Joint Master's Program Theses, 1976-present

Completed Master's and Joint Master's Comprehensive Program, 1960-present

Completed Ph.D. Theses, 1976-present

Joint Master's Program Theses in Progress

Ph.D. Theses in Progress

The Department of History awards the following prizes to outstanding graduating students.

William Gordon Dodds Award for Archival Studies
Awarded annually to the student who: has successfully completed the M.A. in History in the archival studies stream delivered by the Joint Master's Program at either the University of Manitoba or the University of Winnipeg; has achieved a minimum degree gpa of 3.75 in the archival studies program; and has done outstanding work in archival studies, including her/his thesis and course work, as determined by the selection committee. Value: cash prize

W. L. Morton Gold Medal in History
Awarded annually to the student who in fulfilling and completing the requirements for a Master of Arts degree in History at the University of Manitoba has, in the opinion of the Committee of Award, done outstanding work. This award results from departmental nomination and prospective candidates cannot apply for it. Value: Medal and cash prize.
Morton Medal Prize Winners

Association for Manitoba Archives Thesis of Distinction Award
Awarded to the student in the Master of Arts (History) Archival Studies Program who completes all the requirements of the program and who receives the designation "pass with distinction" from their thesis examination committee. Value: cash prize
AMA Thesis of Distinction Award Winners

Hugh A. Taylor Prize for Excellence in Archival Studies
Awarded to the student who has completed the first year of the Master of Arts (History) Archival Studies program and is judged to have demonstrated the greatest imagination in their course work and essays. The prize consists of a certificate and book prize (usually Terry Cook and Gordon Dodds, eds., Imagining Archives: Essays and Reflections by Hugh A. Taylor (2003).
H. Taylor Prize Winners