Experience research

Wondering what to do next summer?

Why not experience research with a professor in the Faculty of Architecture?  

Professors regularly contribute to the advancement of knowledge and culture through their research, scholarship and creative activities. To encourage involvement of undergraduate students in research, the University of Manitoba has established the Undergraduate Research Award. This competitive award allows students to be mentored by a professor of their choice while working as a research assistant for 16 weeks in the summer. Student winners will receive $7,000.00 and gain valuable experience in their field, while professors benefit from skilled support.

The application process requires students interview two eligible professors, write short summaries of their research, and describe how participating in one of these research areas may advance long-term career aspirations.  

Deadline: January 25, 2021

Full application details are available here.

This Faculty of Architecture information session reviews the application process and features past student winners of the Undergraduate Research Award to discuss their experience participating in this program.

Dr. Lisa Landrum, Associate Dean Research, Architecture
Benita Kliewer and Rhys Wiebe, ED4 Architecture
Lindsay Mamchur, ED4 Landscape + Urbanism
Max Sandred, ED3 Architecture
Owen Swendrowski-Yerex, ED3 Landscape + Urbanism
Teresa Lyons and Owen Toth, ED4 Architecture
Prof. Shawn Bailey, Architecture, Indigenous Scholar
Dr. Rae Bridgman, City Planning
Prof. Kamni Gill, Landscape Architecture
Dr. Susan Close, Associate Dean Academic and ED Program Chair, Interior Design

Read interviews with the Faculty of Architecture students who worked as undergraduate researchers in summer 2020 here.

List of Faculty of Architecture professors interested in hosting a URA recipient in summer 2021 available here.

Students may consider working with any available full-time professor, whose research is described on their bio page on the Academic Staff List.